Five coloured bathing and Humuhumu… what the heck?

On our second day in Maui, we headed off to the Grand Wailea Resort in the afternoon for a bathing experience and treatment.  The Grand Wailea Resort is one of the nicest hotel in Maui, and it’s super expensive.  I wish we could stay there… not that we don’t like our very practical hotel!  But this hotel just looked so luxurious and beautiful.

IMG_7484 [640x480]

The Grand Wailea Hotel  has a Spa Grande which has a 5 coloured aromatic bath and multiple bathing experiences like Japanese hot tub, Roman hot tub, Swiss Jet Showers etc. I love the 5 coloured aromatic bath especially, because the 5 represents different islands in Hawaii.  I think one tub has spirulina, another has a pineapple flavour, I think another one was seaweed or something.  I seriously thought that it was the best spa in the whole wide world and finally felt super relaxed.  After a while, I was led to a private room to have a full body scrub which was included in the spa.  Then I finally joined hubby into a couples massage room.  Sadly, was pretty shyt.  The pressure of the massage was too light, so I asked for a harder pressure.  Unfortunately when she used harder pressure she was just jabbing me and completely lost the rhythm of the massage.  Urrrghhh it was a 50 min torture.

IMG_7485(18) [640x480]

Humuhumunukunukuapua’a
3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, Hawaii
(808) 875-1234

IMG_7485(19) [640x480]Thankfully not long after our horrible massage, I booked a table at Humuhumunukunukuapua’a for dinner.  Now don’t ask me to pronounce the name, but apparently Humuhumunukunukuapua’a is a form of reef fish.  Anyway, we continued chillaxing by ordering some cocktails.  I ordered a Pele’s Revenge, which consisted of rum, rum, more rum and coconut milk.  It was served on a tall glass and more inside the coconut.  Ono ono!  (Hawaiian speak of Nom Nom Nom!)

IMG_7485(20) [640x480]Hubby ordered a lemon drop martini $16.50 which he loved but I thought mine was better!

IMG_7485(24) [640x480]Our first dish was the carpaccio of Japanese Hamachi, served with celery ginger granite $22.  This dish was served at a right time- the sun was coming down and it was actually quite hot- this dish with the icy granite cools us down and it was fresh and delicious.

IMG_7485(25) [640x480]

Next up was the Tuna Ahi Tartare $20.  I chose this not only because I am beginning to be obsessed with Ahi (Tuna), but also because it has perilla leaves, which are also my recent obsession in the past 2 years.

IMG_7485(26) [640x480]IMG_7485(27) [640x480]

Hubby couldn’t help but also ordered the abalone chowder $18.  The waiter poured the soup which has a slight curry flavour into the bowl after presenting us with the abalone.  Hubby loved the soup and thought that the abalone was well cooked and very tender.

IMG_7485(30) [640x480]

For mains (or what the Americans called “entrees”), hubby ordered the macadamia nut crusted mahi mahi $38, which honestly I don’t think I actually tried it.  If I did I couldn’t remember because I was so obsessed with my mains, the seared scallops with potato cakes, citrus segments and basil blossoms $32.

IMG_7485(31) [640x480]

Although I found $32 to be really expensive for such a small dish, I thought the flavours were wonderful.  The scallops were fresh and just slightly seared and the potato cakes were delicious without overpowering the scallops.

IMG_7485(34) [640x480]

You would have thought by this time we would be rolling off our chairs, however, dessert must be consumed.  We decided to order the Humu Hula Pie $15.  The Humu Hula Pie is a crazy concoction of macadamia nut and coffee icecream with kahlua sauce on a oreo crust.  It was epic.

IMG_7485(35) [640x480]The pie was so rich that even with both of us eating it we could only finish half.  I didn’t know how the couple on the other table survived as they both order one Humu Hula Pie each!

Overall, we really enjoyed our meal at Humuhumunukunukuapua’a.  The food was awesome, the service was good and the scenery was gorgeous.  If you have to splurge on one meal in Maui, I would definitely recommend Humuhumunukunukuapua’a.  9/10

To check out the other places we visited in USA, please visit my USA page here.

Humuhumunukunukuapua'a on Urbanspoon

