The Premises

The Premises
202 Bellair St, Kensington
03 9376 7565

photo 2 [640x480]

Being on forced leave meant reconnecting with people I haven’t seen for a long time.  One of them was my ex-colleague Lil who had a baby and is on maternity leave.  I visited her, her hubby Sam and her bouncy baby one leisurely Monday and she took me to The Premises.

photo 1 [640x480]Having rarely venture over to the North side, I grasped this opportunity enthusiastically with both hands.  The Premises is not a big place, and for a late mid-week morning they were pretty busy with most tables occupied.  Its decor was simple but functional, with the coffee making area occupying most of its visible space and a small cake cabinet full of delicious looking cake for desserts.

photo 1 (2) [640x480]I don’t know whether anyone had Mork chocolate before, but it’s the friggin richest, yummiest hot chocolate in the whole wide world.  It’s not very sweet but you can always add as much sugar as  you like.

photo 3 [640x480]I had a chorizo and potato hash with saffron aioli $19.  I wasn’t too sure why this is called a hash because it’s not erm… really hashy you know?  Not that it matters because it tasted wonderful.  The chorizo was delicious, the egg was gooey and perfectly poached.  I think the star of the dish was the saffron aioli which made the whole dish magical.

photo 2 (2) [640x480]Lil had the cauliflower salad $16.5.  Whilst it sounded so boring, it’s actually not.  The creamy cauliflower has a beautiful smokey flavour to it. Pomegrante appeared here and there throughout,  and the grilled haloumi was a dream come true and adds savouriness to the whole dish.  You really have to shove all the ingredients into your mouth to truely understand the greatness of this cauliflower salad.

photo 4 [640x480]

We all decided to share a dessert to finish and Sam ordered this beautiful carrot cake.  Carrot cake would probably not be my first or second choice of dessert but this was delicious.  The cake was soft and moist and the icing was delightfully creamy and fluffy.  YUM

Overall let’s just say that I wish I can come back occassionally to have breakfast here.  Although I still felt Hardware Societe and Proud Mary reign supreme in the breakfast area, The Premises certainly came  a close 3rd. 8/10

Apologies also as I am not sure about the prices of the breakfast because Lil and her hubby paid…. Thanks guys!

The Premises on Urbanspoon

