Hello BangPop

BangPop
35 South Wharf Promenade, South Wharf
03 9245 9800

It’s really the case of “one door shuts and the other one opens”.  The day I learn that my beloved Jamon Sushi is closing down is the day I was invited to attend BangPop’s not-so-secret tasting event.  Situated in the old The Sharing House, Bangpop boast about bringing the authentic Thai tastes to your doorstep.

We were greeted by the very enthusiastic Front of House team and Nic the PR guru.  Being a huge… like MEGA huge fan of The Sharing House, I grilled Nic about why it closed down so suddenly.  Apparently due to the departure of the Head Chef Mark Briggs, Paul Mathis decided that instead of finding another chef to fill in Mark’s big shoes, he would implement one of the 365 restaurant ideas in his head.  Hence BangPop is born.

IMG_4748 [640x480]

Black & White Sesame crispy with some friggin awesome Thai Dip

Thai Sausages

Thai Sausages

Apparently super spicy prawn salad

Apparently super spicy prawn salad

IMG_4756 [640x480]

Pork neck w sticky rice

IMG_4757 [640x480]

Pork belly w/ gai lan (sorry for the out of focus pic!)

Chicken w/ flat rice noodle in a gravy

Chicken w/ flat rice noodle in a gravy

IMG_4761 [640x480]

Yellow curry of fish

Pumpkin poached in coconut custard

Pumpkin poached in coconut custard

Yumgasmic coconut jelly

Yumgasmic coconut jelly

Overall I am loving the first taste of Bangpop.  There are many a number of hits (pork neck, coconut jelly, yumgasmic dip for the sesame crackers, the fish sauce and the chilli!!!) and not many misses (the pork skin in the pork belly dish was rubbery and it smelt too strongly of pork).

One word of warning though, if you can’t take the heat (in this case the chillis), don’t go there (or at least, don’t order the hot dish!).  When they say Bangpop they are not kidding.  I say BRING ON THE CHILLIS but I know a lot of people wanted it toned down, but I sincerely hoped that they won’t. (and they promised that they won’t :) )

And I thought I would still miss The Sharing House, but it was very VERY far from my mind when I tuck into Bangpop’s dishes.  Go check it out!

Piggyeatalot dined as a guest of BangPop.

BangPop on Urbanspoon

