Piggy and Monky eating our way around Melbourne (IV)

Wait a second!  You might be thinking, why does the title say Piggy and Monky?  What happened to Froggy?
Sadly, after all the nomming we did that weekend, Froggy had to go back to the real world :(((  So here we are, Piggy and Monky, chomping our way around Melbourne on behalf of Froggy :)

Hardware Societe
118-120 Hardware St, Melbourne
03 9078 5992

Yumgasmic banana bread

Yumgasmic banana bread

I had the most yumgasmic banana bread in Hardware Societe.  I didn’t know why I didn’t discover this sooner.  Granted this is not even what I have ordered, our friend order this and both Monky and I kept sneaking forkfuls from him.  Poor boy.

photo 2 [640x480]I ordered my typical scrambled eggs, and really this is like a breakfast for two. Heehee

photo 3 [640x480]Monky ordered the baked eggs and when it came out, I had food envy :P

photo 4 [640x480]We also shared the sweet brioche as a dessert, which is groaning with pistachio, pear and chocolate puddingy thing.  Not as good as the banana bread I must say!  I can’t wait to go back to Hardware Societe and have the banana bread again!

Shandong Mama
Shop 7, 200 Bourke St, Melbourne
03 9650 3818

Hello Dumprings!

Hello Dumprings!

For lunch, we had dumprings at Shandong Mama.  I have been dying to blog about this place for ages.  It opened with a fury of tweeps saying how delicious it was and it has been my favorite dumpling place in the city since.  I brought my colleagues there, my friends there and even my dad there and they LOVED IT.

My fav, shrimp and turnip dumpring is no longer available! :'(

My fav, shrimp and turnip dumpring is no longer available! :’(

Unfortunately since the departure (?) of one of their dumpling chefs, I felt that their standards have dropped since.  They also removed one of my favorite dumplings from the menu, which is the one with turnips and dried shrimps. Not happy!
Melbourne Dumpring

Melbourne Dumpring

That being said their Melbourne dumplings are still quite good.  The flavours were not as balanced as before but for a non-prawn eater I still ate heaps of Melbourne dumplings. For those who are in the dark, Melbourne dumpling is Shandong Mama’s signature dumpling, made with chicken, mussels, prawns, lemon, parsley and olive oil.  A truly Western-Asian fusion which actually works.

Chives and egg pancake

Chives and egg pancake

That night Monky went with her other friends to Red Spice Road whilst I stayed and recuperated from all the eating.  But you’d be sure on Monky’s last day, that’s the next blog post, I will be bringing her to something good.  Stay tuned!

 

Check out Piggy, Monky and Froggy’s other adventures here:-

Piggy, Monky and Froggy eating our way around Melbourne (I)
Piggy, Monky and Froggy eating our way around Melbourne (II)
Piggy, Monky and Froggy eating our way around Melbourne (III)
Piggy, Monky and Froggy eating our way around Melbourne (V)

The Hardware Societe on UrbanspoonShandong Mama on Urbanspoon

