2 Birds 1 Stone

Two Birds One Stone
12 Claremont Street, South Yarra
03 9827 1228

photo 1 [640x480]

My two new Melbournian friends, JW and PP lived in a service apartment just downstairs from Two Bird One Stone.  Having never been there myself, we took the opportunity to go there one weekend.
We got there quite early to try and escape the crowd and got some seats directly overlooking the coffee making action.  Whilst this space is fantastic for checking out how our coffee is made, it’s not really good seats for conversation as the clicking and screeching of the coffee machine often drown our voices.
We all decided to order the specials of the day, JW ordering the croque monsieur $13.5 and the girls ordering the maple bacon, banana and cheesey toast $14.5.
photo 2 [640x480]While the croque monsieur does not look as huge as the one at Hardware Societe, it still packed a punch and JW could hardly finish his share.  From what I can tell he liked the chorizo in between the layers of bread and his eggs looked perfectly cooked.
photo 3 [640x480]Our bacon banana concoction was… Interesting.  Sometimes the sweet savory combo works but I thought this time it wasn’t as yummy as it could be.  There was a cluster of chilli salt combo on the side which made the whole dish extremely salty if you chucked it all in, which I stupidly did because I love chilli and thought it would give it a nice kick.  Probably won’t order this dish again.

Two Birds One Stone on Urbanspoon

The service was friendly but it did felt like there is a pressure to turnover the tables, as dishes got whipped off as soon as I put down my fork.  I would say Two Birds One Stone was ok, but I wouldn’t be rushing to go back anytime soon.  7/10
