Virginia Plain

photo 1 [640x480]Virginia Plain
31 Flinders Lane, Melbourne
03 9290 0400
I am loving these lunch express which doesn’t only happen during Melbourne Food and Wine festivals!
photo 2 [640x480]Virginia Plain offer one such lunch express so I decided to drag my parents for a quick bite.  With a choice of 2 courses ($35) and 3 courses ($45) with a glass of wine, it offers unbeatable value for people who wanted a nice lunch (or early dinner for the matter, as they offer the same deal for pre-theatre dining).
photo 4 [640x480]P.Diddy chose the wagyu bressola to start with the fish of the day to follow.  The wagyu bressola was melt in your mouth fantastic and can certainly become a meal in itself with those fluffy clouds of buffalo ricotta.  I would definitely say that this is the starter of the day.
His fish, I think it was snapper that day was also perfectly cooked and served with fresh crunchy beans.
photo 3 [640x480]P.Mummy chose the cured salmon with apples.  Beautifully plated, it was fresh and light.  But not to worry, as P.Mummy has decided on a wagyu steak for mains.
photo 2 (2) [640x480]Holy hell that was a massive piece of steak!  I tried a little piece but I felt that for a piece of wagyu it wasn’t as melt in your mouth as it could have been.  P.Mummy said she loved it though so go figure.  I kept sneaking bits of stringy fries off her plate cos it’s pretty good.  Heehee
photo 1 (2) [640x480]I had the zuchini salad for my entree and I thought my entree looked a bit ugly and boring compared to the other dishes.  The zuchinis were fantastic don’t get me wrong, it’s just that I had a massive case of food envy.  I also ordered what P.Diddy had for mains, which was the fish.
photo 4 (2) [640x480]Overall, I love the food and service in Virginia Plain, it’s a great venue to have a leisurely lunch hut they can certainly accommodate if you need to get out in an hour.  But why hurry, when you can really enjoy and savor the flavours? 8.5/10

Virginia Plain on Urbanspoon

