Giddiup

Giddiup
269 Coventry Street, South Melbourne
03 9682 8820

After lunch at Chez Dre a few months ago, I walked past this tiny little cafe on Coventry St which doesn’t seemed to have any signage or doorway.  I was intrigued.  Turns out, this is Giddiup, and its doorway is just off Francis St/Coventry St and I have been dying to visit every since.

photo 1 [640x480]After moving to the South Melbourne area, I have decided to invite Shoe Queen for a quick bite after Bikram Yoga and cunningly steered her towards Giddiup.  We were greeted by this really friendly guy who told me that my choice of peppermint tea was very civilised hahahahaha (what he doesn’t know was that I reacted really badly to the fructose I had the night before and needed some calming tea LOL).

photo 2 [640x480]Anyway, I digressed.  The menu at Giddiup was short and sweet, and the prices are very reasonable.  Shoe Queen and I shared a BLT.  For $9 you actually get two brioche buns with lashings of not-too-fatty bacon (a plus!), with delicious mayo, fresh lettuce and tomato.  The brioche buns were of course on the smaller side but that’s why there is two.  It’s just the right size for sharing and it also meant that we didn’t feel guilty ordering dessert afterwards.

photo 4 [640x480]For dessert, we ummm’d and ahhh’d between the brownie $6.5 or the coconut and lime bread $5.  We eventually decided on the lime bread simply because it’s a bit unusual.  It was a fantastic choice- served warm with a chunk of butter, it was moist and dense and had beautiful coconuty flavours.  Although I would like the lime flavours to feature a little bit more on this bread, there were certainly no complaints from both of us.

photo 3 [640x480]We would definitely be back to try out more delicious brekkie!  8/10
Giddiup on Urbanspoon

