Ombra Salumi Bar

Ombra Salumi Bar
76 Bourke St, Melbourne
03 9639 1927

photo 3 (2) [640x480]Grossi’s newish casual dining establishment, Ombra, opened not long ago and is already attracting the business crowd to lunch. Thankfully I had the foresight to book for our lunch group of 7 earlier that week, or else they would certainly not be able to squeeze us in.

We ordered a few share plates and a few pizzas to share. I think the menu is designed to share, but the waiter did say that if we wanted to have our individual plates we could. Bah, who would want that when you can try different things?

photo 1 [640x480]First up, we had the special of the day, which is the squid and salmon deep fried balls. I don’t know why but squid ink makes everything better! It just has this awesome flavour that I couldn’t quite describe.

photo 2 [640x480]Pork belly croquette was nicely fried and very flavoursome. I just personally find pork belly too fatty for my liking and although there are some tomato based sauce that helps cut the fattiness I still think it was a bit too much.

photo 3 [640x480]Oh the mushroom dish- it was divine. We ordered a second plate after tasting it! It came with fresh bread where you can dip and absorb all the yummy juices. Delicious!

photo 4 [640x480]Lamb ribs was another highlight of Ombra. The lamb was crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside. There’s this slightly sticky sweet chilli sauce on the side but don’t be fooled by the sweetness. The chilli gives a HUGE kick which is fabulous. We also ordered two servings of those.

In trying to be healthy we ordered a candied pumpkin salad (not pictured). I just wish there was more of it. This tiny salad was packed full of flavour and bursting with freshness.

photo 5 [640x480]Our two pizzas came. One was today’s special zucchini, anchovies and capers pizza and the other was a magherita. The pizzas were fantastic but I like the zucchini one better. It has a beautiful base and great flavours. The magherita I found the sauce a bit too acidic.

Dessert time! With an array of tantalizing desserts like Rum Baba, bread and butter pudding, tarts and pofiteroles, who could resist?

photo 1 (2) [640x480]We ordered a few desserts to share. First being the profiteroles with a caramel centre. I don’t normally like caramel but this is pretty damn good profiterole!

photo 2 (2) [640x480]The peach and blackberry tart on the other hand is just wayyyy to sweet but my friend DC loved every bite of it. Whereas I thought dessert of the day is the rumbaba. Although initially hesitant about the whole rum baba business, I quickly realized how sensational this dessert is and was soon fighting for the last piece.

Overall, I thought Ombra is well executed and the food was delicious. Bring a crowd so you can taste everything! 8.5/10

Ombra Salumi Bar on Urbanspoon

