Scusami

Scusami
Southgate Complex Shop 4 Southgate Plz, Southbank
03 9699 4111

I must say, Scusami is one of the more diabolical dining experience I have ever had. Not because of the food but man the service is just non-existent.

photo 5 [640x480]The girls arrived first and gave the name of the reservation and the waitress told us “I saved this table just for you” and gave us a table for two. Wait a sec, we have a table of four. Lesson One: be sincere, don’t fake it. If you don’t know the number of guest arriving, check the reservation when we gave it to you.

We got seated in the outside patio area which thankfully had a giant heater and a fantastic view. We haven’t even got our coats off when the waiter came in and rattled off a list of things we could start with “sparkling? Garlic bread? Oysters?” this kind of up selling behavior makes me sick. Just give us a menu and some tap water first will ya?

Our dining companions came and we decided to order a few starters, mains and sides. It was extremely hard to get their attention. They don’t seemed to have much to do but simply hang around inside and not checking their patrons sitting on the patio. When we finally got their attention, they once again tried to convince us we need more starters, suggesting three types of bruschetta between the four of us. I don’t think so.

photo 3 [640x480]photo 2 [640x480]We decided on two bruschetta, one with anchovies and tomato and the other one with spicy meat and goats cheese. They were ok, nothing to rave home about.

photo 4 [640x480]We also ordered a potato bomba which seemed to be made with the same meat as the one on the bruschetta. I thought the bomba itself was quite nice, although the avocado sauce was a bit weird with this. I would probably prefer pesto.

photo 1 (2) [640x480]Hubby had their chicken and thought it wasnt too bad. I tried a little bit and thought it was a bit too smokey for my liking, but then again I did only try a bit.

photo 4 (2) [640x480]On the other hand I had the pescatorie pasta which I thought it was quite nice although some of the seafood are not overly fresh. I tried to get the waitress’ attention for some chilli but couldn’t get their attention. Again. Urghhh. I finally gave up and walked up to one of them and interrupted their chit chat and got my chilli.

photo 2 (2) [640x480]Our sides includes potatoes and zuchini which was quite nice. The zuchinis were well cooked and although swimming with a bit too much sauce, it was very good sauce.

Time to pay the bill and once again we simply could not get their attention. For about 10 mins we all try to catch their eyes (probably a bit hard through glass), did increasingly insane and exaggerated waves and finally we all thought we caught someone eyes yet to be disappointed AGAIN, I decided to tap on the window. Yes it was rude but I am so sick and tired of trying to get their attention. By now There were quite a few tables outside so they should really be looking after their customers outside.

Overall, I would say the food was 6.5 and the service at this instance was a 3/10.

Scusami on Urbanspoon

