Chillipadi Melbourne Central

Did I tell you I have started doing Barre classes in the city lately? Barre is the latest craze from US, incorporating ballet movement with Pilates and yoga. The first time I did it I almost toppled the barre over, but I am starting to get the hang of it now ^^

After my class we decided to head to Chilli Padi in Melbourne Central for lunch. These classes always seemed to make me extra hungry so I ordered quite a lot of food (heehee).

photo 1 [640x480]ChilliPadi Melbourne Central
Little Lonsdale St, Melbourne, VIC
03 9663 5688

photo 2 [640x480]
For entree we tried the soft shell crab with mayo and a sweet chilli sauce. I am not a huge fan of the sweet chilli sauce so I tried scoping the mayo out and smearing it into my crab. The crab itself was a little dry- I like mine juicy and meaty in the middle. Thankfully it’s not too oily which is a plus.

photo 5 [640x480]I persuaded Hubby to order the belachan (shrimp) paste fried rice with a sunny side egg. It has fantastic “wok hei”, which is what every stir fry dish should have- a whole lot of steam coming out of the dish to signify that the wok is hot enough and your food is freshly cooked. That’s the only thing that’s great about it. It’s not a bad tasting dish per se, it just doesn’t taste a whole lot like belachan, that’s all. Hubby reckons it just tasted like normal fried rice.

I like my prawn har mee (prawn noodles). Interesting side note is that I don’t really like the actual cooked prawn meat, but I love the prawn soup etc. I am weird that way.

photo 4 [640x480]Anyway I digress, I really liked my prawn har mee- it was full of flavour and even have this slight kick of chilli in it. I have had too many diluted, bland har mee elsewhere so this is pretty good.

The service though, is pretty slow. There was only one person serving us, making drinks, greet customer on a Saturday lunchtime, so we did feel a little unloved. Overall, 7/10.
Chillipadi on Urbanspoon

