Maccaroni Trattoria Italiana

Maccaroni Trattoria Italiana
10-12 Manchester Lane, Melbourne
03 9090 7634

photo 2 [640x480]The aim of P.Mummy’s Melbourne visit is to watch King Kong, but the aim of her visit for me is to take her to have delicious food in Melbourne heehee.  But what to eat nearby that’s quick and delicious?  It took me ages, but finally the first thing that popped into my head was Maccaroni Trattoria Italiana!  I totally forgot how close it was to Regent theatre.  YAY!  Problem solved.

photo 3 [640x480]P.Mummy was trying to cut back on calories, so we decided to share a soup, salad and a mushroom and truffle pappardelle.  The soup of the day was minestrone and P.Mummy loved it.  Sadly I can’t have too much of it because of all the chickpeas and beans.

photo 1 [640x480]The pappardelle was delicious, the truffle smelt so good and the pasta was cooked perfectly.  Sadly this is a special dish of the day, so who knows when it will be available again?

photo 4 [640x480]The garden salad, although fresh, I found the vinegar flavour overpowering.

photo 5 [640x480]Dessert time, and Maccaroni Trattoria Italiana have plenty of choices.  I reckon the cafe has the same amount of cakes as it has pasta!  A selection of hazelnut tarts, cheesecakes, tiramisu, pistachio cakes etc.  It’s so hard to choose, but P.Mummy has her heart set of the dairy free lemon and lime cake.  I quite like the cake, it has fantastic citrusy flavour but it was slightly dry :(

Overall though, Maccaroni Trattoria Italiana is still one of my favourite pasta places in Melbourne city. 8/10

