Burger Match! Trunk Diner vs Strange Wolf

Hello readers!  Last week I was meeting a couple of friends for lunch on Thursday and Friday.  For some reason, both parties decided to visit places that are famous for burgers, Trunk Diner on Thursday and Strange Wolf on Friday.  Heehee.  Hence I decided to do a burger post:  Trunk Diner vs Strange Wolf!

Trunk
275 Exhibition St, Melbourne
03 9663 7994

photo 1 (3) [640x480]Meeting Lil for a slightly early lunch on Thursday, Trunk wasn’t very full.  The very friendly waiter gave me a bigger corner table, cos Lil’s little son, CutiePie was also joining us.  Thankfully we had a big table plus a bit of space- CutiePie loves running around now and loves grabbing stuff from the table! Heehee.

photo 3 (3) [640x480]We ordered a burger to share- Oh hello 175gram of Wagyu Burger!  We added Gruyere cheese for $11.5.  The wagyu burger came quite plainly- bun with the wagyu beef and cheese, with two slices of tomatoes, bits of cos lettuce and pickles on the side.  What is this?  A deconstructed burger?!  There are also homemade BBQ sauce, Tomato sauce and Tabasco in bottles on the table.

photo 2 (3) [640x480]I wasn’t too sure how exactly to eat this burger.  Should I chuck the pieces of tomato, cos and pickles into the burger or what?  Eventually, I decided to simply eat it as it is with a bit of BBQ Sauce and Tabasco , and eat the sides separately.  It was kinda weird as the pickles were actually too salty to eat on its own.

photo 4 (2) [640x480]The burger was also slightly disappointing.  The bun, even though grilled, was quite dry and a little bit cold.  The beef, wasn’t medium rare as promised, but fully cooked and once again a bit dry.  The BBQ Sauce and tabasco helped a bit though, but I am missing Huxtaburger already.

photo 1 (2) [640x480]The fries though, were quite nice.  Not very oily and well seasoned.  Once again I used the BBQ Sauce with the fries, and the nice and smokey BBQ Sauce went really well with the fries.  Yum Yum.  The verdict for Burger and fries?  6.5/10

photo 5 (2) [640x480]We also shared a Buttermilk Chicken wings w potato salad $11.  Sadly it was a bit disappointing.  The chicken wings were quite dry and seemed to only be seasoned with salt.  I quite like the potato salad though, it was simple but with nice aioli.

photo 2 (2) [640x480]The next day, I went back to try one more thing: Their dark chocolate and walnut for breakfast $4.

photo 3 (2) [640x480]Although the plus was that the muffin was nicely warm, as you can see it was REALLY oily and it had so much icing sugar on it that I wondered if the top was burnt.  Thankfully it wasn’t burnt, but it wasn’t very nice either.  The dark chocolate didn’t taste very nice although the walnut was very fresh.  I only had less than half before chucking it out.

Overall, I would give Trunk Diner 6.5/10.

Strange Wolf
Strachan Ln, Melbourne
03 9662 4914
photo 2 [640x480]My poor colleagues must be wondering where I am taking them when I told them “we are going to Strange Wolf, it’s down this alleyway called Strachan Lane”.  Strange Wolf used to be The Exchange Bar, but even that didn’t trigger some Melbournites’ memory.
The decor in Strange Wolf didn’t really change must from the Exchange days- it still looked like a dark man cave more than anything.  We ordered our burgers at the bar, Robo had the Underbelly $15, JW had the Wolf Burger $14 while Jaz and I both ordered the Mongrel Deluxe $15.
photo 3 [640x480]My Mongrel burger consists of180g of yearling wagyu beef, Boucher bacon, Swiss Cheese, tomato and mint salsa.  So why does it cost about $4 more than Trunk?  That, my friends,I cannot answer.  This beef patty is certainly juicier than the one in Trunk, but lacked the lovely smokey flavour of Trunk.  I couldn’t seem to detect any mint flavours in the tomato and mint salsa.
photo 4 [640x480]Fries wise, I love thick cut chips, however I felt this one was slightly undercooked.  Overall, Strange Wolf wasn’t as good as I expected either.
So, burger vs burger, Trunk vs Strange Wolf.  The verdict is…. (drumroll please!!!) A DRAW! 6.5/10 for both places and my quest for burgers continues.
photo 1 [640x480]
That being said though, that VERY weekend I went to Mount Dandenong’s SkyHigh cafe.  If I thought that Trunk and Strange Wolf is not up to scratch, this touristy joint that charges almost $25 for a burger and $5 for entry was an epic fail.  Soggy burger, soggy fries, horrible “tasty” cheese.  This is one joint that screams “Tourist trap” so loudly that you can hear it from Melbourne.

Strange Wolf on Urbanspoon
Trunk Diner on Urbanspoon
Sky High Mount Dandenong on Urbanspoon

