Dead Man Espresso

Since I moved to the South side of CBD, I really get to explore the around the inner city suburbs of Melbourne.  I know I like South Melbourne, but I am really discovering its charms.  Having heard about Dead Man Espresso for AGES, I never realised how close it was to us!

Dead Man Espresso
35 Market St, South Melbourne
03 9686 2255

photo 1 [640x480]

I am loving Dead Man’s really modern exterior and interior, the vibe in that joint is amazing.  Another amazing thing is the extensive menu at Dead Man’s.  Something light like porridge, toasts, museli, avocado toast to richer food like hotcakes, baked beans,toasties, Campfire breakfasts etc.  The choice is hard, but sometimes a little bit of skillful negotiating results in food sharing- YAY!

photo 2 [640x480]Shoe Queen and I shared a light brekkie and a richer brekkie.  Avocado, grapefruit and goats cheese  on toast $17 was our lighter choice, and it was light and refreshing on this rare balmy Sunday.  I was tempted to make this at home as it looks healthy and yummy.

photo 5 [640x480]

Our heavier choice was the potato hash $18.5 Potato hash was a bit dry but nonetheless tasty with chunky bits of potato.  The Istra pancetta that came with it was nicely crispy with just the right amount of fat and the eggs were perfectly cooked.

photo 4 [640x480]

I wasd really really hoping that hubby would order the banana hotcakes, but he was being stubborn and refused to order it! Grrrrrrrrr.  Fortunately BH decided to order the Banana Hotcake $14!  YAY!

photo 1 (2) [640x480]Well, I wish I could say that I love it.  Sadly maybe I am spoilt by Hardware Socetie, but this banana hotcake doesn’t look as scrumptious as the sweet brioche from Hardware Socetie… I also found the banana hotcake wayyy too sweet.  But hey, BH really liked it so go figure.

photo 2 [640x480] (2)Hubby pretended to be healthy and ordered a porridge, but sadly I think they got the order wrong and gave him some museli instead, so it took ages for them to bring out the right order of rhubarb porridge $11.5.  They kindly compensated him by giving him a free coffee (Thank you Dead Man!  Normally people just apologize and that’s the end of that, so we really appreciate this :))

photo 3 [640x480]Overall, I quite like Dead Man Espresso.  It might not be the best breakfast I have ever had, but it’s a great choice when you are out and about in South Melbourne.  7.5/10

 
Dead Man Espresso on Urbanspoon

