Sydney Foodie Trip Stop 3: Menya Noodle Bar

Menya Noodle Bar
Shop 2, 1 Market Street, Sydney
02 9267 4649

photo 1 [640x480]Menya Noodle Bar is highly rated by one of my foodie friend in Sydney, so in the spirit of Gumshara vs another ramen place, I decided that Menya ramen would adequately serve this purpose.

photo 2 [640x480]I ordered Menya’s noodle bar’s Menya Noodles heehee.  For $9.9 you get charshu, noodles, fish cake, bamboo shoot, shallots with a choice of tonkotsu, shio, miso or shoyu soup base.

photo 3 [640x480]As per my last post, for me, there are 4 essential things that should be good about the ramen: noodle, soup, egg and meat. I am not a huge meat person so I did put the meat last. I will score everything out of 5 with the total of 20 points :)

The noodles in this place is the type that I like, the yellow wriggly noodle. These were probably cooked just a touch over, and by the time I was halfway through my ramen, it was a bit soggy. 4/5

The soup I selected was the Shio (salt) soup. I used to think that Shio is only made of salt and it would be really salty, but how wrong was I! Shio soup in Menya is made of chicken and seafood, it has pack full of flavour and not too salty at all. 4/5

The egg, which is my third essential criteria for ramen, was sadly not up to scratch. As you can see from the photo, the egg was slightly overcooked, but what you probably can’t tell from the picture here is that it was way too salty. I usually save my egg til last but that overpowering saltiness left a bad taste in my mouth and made me thirsty all day. Not good. 2.5/5

Lastly, the pork. It was thinly sliced, relatively melt in your mouth, but that’s all it got going for it. The pork was flavourless except for a slight smelly pork flavour. Not very nice at all. I left the pork alone in Menya. 2.5/5

Overall, 14/20, I would say it still beats any of the ramen places in Melbourne, so I will be back for their noodles, if maybe just plain noodles with Shio without the condiments!

photo 4 [640x480]Aside from the ramen I ate, we also had Gyoza which was ok, chicken kaarage was not too bad either except there was slightly too much batter. Hubby didn’t really rate his chilli beef ramen $11.90, but thought the curry rice that he paid $5 with the Gyoza was pretty good.

photo 5 [640x480]

Menya Noodle Bar on Urbanspoon

