Straits Cafe

Straits Cafe
694 Doncaster Rd, Doncaster Road, Doncaster
03 9848 1605

Iphoto 3 [640x480]t was a rare occurrence to venture out into the burbs that I really wanted to try something good when we do. On a particular Saturday we ventured out to Doncaster. I have heard a lot about Straits Cafe and have been dying to try it for years, so I insisted on going there this time.

photo 1 [640x480]I heard that the Fish Head Bee Hoon $13 was fantastic so I decided to try that, while hubby got the curry laksa $9.9. My fish head bee hoon looked good, but it just wasn’t as good as the one I have tasted in Singapore! The fish, which was deep fried, was over cooked and tough. The soup tasted ok, but it felt like it had a bit of MSG in it. The soup doesn’t actually taste as creamy as the ones we had in Singapore either.

photo 4 [640x480]Hubby didn’t like his curry laksa at all. It was funny cos I was talking to Fatboo the other day, apparently real laksa doesn’t have curry in it!! Hubby said even Laksa King is better (and he doesn’t even like Laksa King!!)

photo 2 [640x480]Overall, we found Strait’s Cafe a bit of a disappointment. I think we will have to find a better food place next time we are in Doncaster! 5.5/10

Straits Cafe on Urbanspoon

