Boney

Boney
68 Little Collins St
Melbourne, VIC
03 9662 1026

What used to be Pony, is now called Boney. I am not too sure whether the rhyming was deliberate and I must confessed I have never been to Pony before cos it looked a bit grungy.
photo 2 [640x480]
I stumbled upon Boney on Twitter and having to uphold my reputation as the girl who find weird places to eat I decided to give Boney a try.

photo 1 [640x480]The signage outside wasn’t huge and I was a bit worried that some of my colleague would walk past it. Indeed, one of them strayed past Boney and have to be captured by another colleague coming from another direction. For the record my instructions were Little Collins St (and Exhibition st) behind European Beer Cafe :)

photo 3 [640x480]The first impression was good. I love the cavernous dining hall and the front of house team were lovely. The menu consists of a selection of sharable dishes and for those who doesn’t like to share, there are individual mains.

JW and I shared the buttermilk fried chicken $16.5 and mushroom melts $11.5.

photo 4 [640x480]The buttermilk fried chicken didn’t look that great, the batter looked a bit like the ones they use in Chinese takeaway for lemon chicken. But you simply can’t judge the book by its cover cos the batter was crispy and flavoursome. The harrisa and lemon mayo gave it a hint of spiciness while cutting the richness of the dish. My two small complaints was that 1) the chicken wasn’t as moist and succulent as I would have liked (but very minor and it was definitely better than the one I had at Trunk diner!) and 2) that it would have made it easier to share if we had say, 4 drumsticks instead of 3, especially when we see that the others got a rather hearty meal, ours looked tiny in comparison.

photo 1 (2) [640x480]The mushroom melts are fantastic.  Melted with taleggio cheese, it tasted slightly tangy and earthy, with some tasty garlicky toast at the bottom to absorb all the flavours.

photo 2 (2) [640x480]I really like the vibe of this place and will not hesistate to recommend this lunch spot to everyone.  Even though I haven’t tried other people’s dishes, the others seemed to really like their snapper burger and their Thursday special of Barley risotto too.  I can’t wait to go back and try other things!  8/10

Boney on Urbanspoon

