Kakureya Dining Bar

Kakureya Dining Bar
Level 1a 217 Russell St, Melbourne
03 9654 4885

photo 5 (2) [640x480]This address used to house the failed Monga Cafe.  I think it was left vacant for several months before one day, I spotted lanterns outside its front door and ta da! Kakureya Dining Bar was born!

photo 3 [640x480]Since then I have been meaning to try it for ages, but for some reason or another I never got around to it.  Finally, a few days ago they were giving out flyers for 10% discount and $1 side dishes at lunch time.  I was intrigued so I perusaded Shoe Queen to test it out with me.

photo 5 [640x480]Turns out, you only get 10% off for dinner (dammit!) but the $1 sides are definitely available for lunch time.  $1 includes deep fried oyster, fried dumpling, rice cake (I think it might be mochi cos she did say it’s sweet) and icecream.  We decided to try their deep fried oyster (bottom left).  They also have a special lunch set of the day, sesame chicken katsu w salad, side dishes, miso soup and dessert for $12!  NOICE!

photo 3 (2) [640x480]The crumbed oyster was OK, for $1 I ain’t gonna complain!  It’s kinda on the small side but it sure as hell is fresh.

photo 1 (2) [640x480]The sesame chicken katsu was unhealthy for sure but it was delicious.  I am salivating from the memory of it.  The chicken was tender and the batter mixed with sesame seed made it fragrant and crunchy.  Oh my god.

photo 2 (2) [640x480]The side of salmon balls were well seasoned  and the grated turnip cuts the fattiness of the dish.  It also did help that we had a refreshing side salad to cut the fattiness of it all.  The miso soup was also fantastic- it was very salty, but it was just right to finish off a meal.

photo 4 (2) [640x480]Dessert time yay!  The chef’s homemade green tea pannacotta!  Drools.  It was really delicious.  Not too sweet, just the right amount of bitterness of the green tea.

Our whole meal comes to $13- cheap and delicious in CBD- what more can you ask for?  8/10

Kakureya Dining Bar on Urbanspoon

