Etto

Etto- Italian Street Pasta
261 Clarendon St, South Melbourne
03 9696 3886

photo 5 [640x480]Etto pasta and I have been atwittering a few times over the last few months.  Etto is actually around my ‘hood, but I probably wouldn’t really go check it out if it wasn’t for the power of the media.  That’s what I love about Twitter- you discover new cafes and restaurants either by recommendation or interaction.  One thing to note though: I did dine here anonymously and paid for my meal.

photo 1 [640x480]The concept is simple: you pick your sauce (tomato/ cream/ al crudo), pick your pasta, then pick if you want anything extra (chilli, special cheese, side of salad or garlic bread).

photo 3 [640x480]I chose a sausage tomato based sauce with penne w/ chilli $13.  I was hangry as hell and it didn’t look like a huge portion.  But to Etto’s credit this dish is actually really filling- and I was quite full after half a dish!

The sausage pasta is made with a rich tomato sauce, the sausage was meaty and the fennel flavour was prominent.  The pasta was cooked perfectly al dente- I love it!  I haven’t really tried a dish where the pesto is served with the tomato but I quite like it.  The only thing I thought was that the tomato sauce was slightly more acidic than I would like it to be, and that thrown the flavour off a little bit.

photo 2 [640x480]Hubby’s has chosen al crudo with black truffle and  salami with spinach tagliatelle and chilli $14.  Even though hubby and I both agreed that we can’t really taste the black truffle, the crunchy garlicky breadcrumbs and Mount Zero olive oil base more than made up for it.  I sneaked a few more bites of his dish and concluded that his dish was way better than mine.

photo 4 [640x480]We also ordered a side of garlic bread, which was absolutely yumgasmic.  Crunchy on the outside, melt-in-your-mouth garlicky on the inside.  Oh my.  Even though I only managed to eat two slices (yes the pasta is really filling!)

Service was friendly and overall it was a fantastic place to grab a quick bite.  Too bad they don’t do home delivery but I can’t wait to take Shoe Queen here when her pasta craving hits!  8.5/10

 
Etto - Italian Street Pasta on Urbanspoon

