Quickie with Piggy: Taiwan Canteen

Taiwan Canteen
311 Exhibition Street, Melbourne
03 9654 7798

My lunch times have been filled with horrible meetings and deadlines lately, so having lunch outside of work is such a luxury. Since we are all busy at work, we decided to find somewhere close for a quick bite. At a recent fire drill we came across this place that serves Taiwanese food on Exhibition St. I don’t have much luck with Taiwanese food in Melbourne CBD, but I thought I should try it once.

photo 1 [640x480]

A huge egg fan, I ordered a soy egg $1.6 on the side. It’s quite flavoursome and I could imagine if I ever needed a small snack, I could just pop down to get this. Not bad at all.

photo 2 [640x480]

Currently on offer is also a chicken noodle soup special with sesame oil. The soup looked quite small but it was quite filling. The flavours of the soup was complex though a bit too salty for my liking.  I didn’t really like the texture of the noodles.  I thought it was somen but it seemed a touched undercooked so it’s quite doughy.  It would have been nice if it was cooked just a bit longer so the flavours of the soup can seep into the noodles.  What I really love was the chicken that went with it- it was flavoursome and tender, and for $10 it was a nice cheap eat if you are around the area.  7/10

Taiwan Canteen on Urbanspoon

