Hunky Dory

Hunky Dory
252 Clarendon St, South Melbourne
03 9696 4025

photo 2 [640x480]I love weekends!  It’s only on the weekends I get to go everywhere to try yummy stuff in my ‘hood.  There are so many delicious places in South Melbourne I have only started discovering and I have been living in this area for almost a year!

photo 1 [640x480]To be honest, I wasn’t planning to go to Hunky Dory.  I had a pasta craving that day and was hoping to go to Etto Pasta.  Too bad I was hangry and Etto wasn’t open for another 20 mins so we decided to try Hunky Dory.

For those who didn’t know, Hunky Dory is a famous fish and chips shop in Melbourne.  They have the usual suspects like grilled and fried fish, chips, calamari, dim sims as well as a section named “flavours of the world” which is grilled fish with spanish/ mexican/ asian flavours.  Funnily enough they also offer lamb/ beef souvlaki burgers.  Hubby and I looked at each other and jokingly commented wouldn’t it be hilarious if we both order souvlaki at a fish and chips shop.

photo 3 [640x480]I ordered the scallop skewer pack $18.5.  It looks good doesn’t it?  Well, it tasted equally amazing.  The scallops were cooked perfectly and the chips were delicious and well seasoned. I chose a spinach salad to go with this and although it was fresh, it was drowning with salad dressing and had too much cheese.

photo 5 [640x480]Hubby ordered the Bay Pack $11.2.  The fish was freshly battered and tasted like as if it just came out of the sea.  The calamari was oh-so-tender but sadly the potato scallop was a let down, with more batter than potato.  For a potato lover hubby was quite disappointed.

The verdict?  Well, it’s a week since I have tasted the mighty Hunky Dory and I can’t wait to savour those succulent scallops again.  8.5/10
Hunky Dory on Urbanspoon

