Quickie with Piggy: Gelare

Gelare
Doncaster Shopping Centre, Doncaster
03 9840 0006

photo 2 [640x480]I have a life long addiction to waffles and who could resist freshly made waffles of Cacao Green or Gelare?  Located in Doncaster Shopping Centre, I wouldn’t have come to this place if it wasn’t for a friend who highly recommended it.

photo 1 [640x480]At first it didn’t really look promising.  We were looking for a chocolate flavour which is not too sweet, but there were so many types to choose from at Gelare!  Jamaican Chocolate, Chocolate Overload, Orange choc truffle… the list goes on.  I asked the server which is less sweet out of all of them but she didn’t seemed to know.  So I asked what is the difference between the Jamaican Choc and Choc Overload and she didn’t know either.  I don’t know, maybe I am getting old and grumpy, but why wouldn’t you brief your staff about your product, no matter how cheap you think that product is.

photo 3 [640x480]Sorry, enough about my gripe.  Hubby and I eventually decided on the chocolate overload with half a waffle.  Hubby loved the chocolate icecream which is rich and dark.  I found it a little bit too sweet for me so I focused on the waffle, which is thick, light and fluffy.  Yummy.

Overall I must say I love the flavour and texture of the waffles of Gelare more than Cacao Green, however, next time I would probably get the waffle separate to the icecream. 8/10

Gelare on Urbanspoon

