Penang Road

Penang Road
177 Clarendon St, South Melbourne
03 9690 0536

photo 1 [800x600]I was dying for something Asian on a Sunday around South Melbourne market even though there were so many delicious brunch offerings around the area, so I decided to Urbanspoon Penang Road which I have driven past many an occasion to see if they are any good.  With a 75% rating and relatively positive review I thought it would be a safe bet, so I decided to take P.Mummy and P.Daddy who just came down to Melbourne for a visit there.

photo 2 [800x600]Hubby and I both chose their traditional laksa $11, the portions are HUGE but sadly the broth wasn’t as intense as I would have liked it.  The whole thing just seemed extremely oily and they used chicken breast for their laksa.  Who uses chicken breast for Asian cooking!?!??!?!  It was so tough and didn’t have any flavours at all.

photo 5 [800x600]P.Mummy ordered their Ipoh Char Ho Fun, which is essentially rice noodles with egg gravy $10.50.  P.Mummy seemed to enjoy it, although I found this dish had too much “old oil” flavour for my liking.

photo 3 [800x600]What I really quite like is this stir fry Lady Fingers with Sambal sauce $9.5.  The flavours were slightly hot and tangy and the lady fingers were nicely cook (ie crunchy and not too slimey).

Sadly, I don’t think I will ever go back to Penang Road again.  I suspect they used a lot of MSG which left me extremely thirsty for the rest of the afternoon.  Next time I will ignore my cravings and go to Dead Man Espresso or St Ali.  5/10

Penang Road on Urbanspoon

