Epocha

Epocha
49 Rathdowne St, Carlton
03 9036 4949

To be honest, I can’t believe I haven’t actually blogged about Epocha!  I went there for my birthday in February, and was so impressed that I couldn’t stop raving about it to friends and family, yet I haven’t blogged about it.  I must be losing my blogger creds.

I figured, well, better late than never.  So here it is, my experience of Epocha :)  First, a little bit of history about this place.  Situated in a Victorian terrace that spans across three levels, the location of Epocha used to house a gentlemen’s club.  Kinkyyyyy.

photo 5 [800x600]The menu consists of sharing plates of snacks, small and large plates.  We debated heatedly about one particular dish: Crispy pig ears $6.  Ying, who is the more adventurous in our group, wanted it, while I am neutral, everyone though she was crazy.  But we are game, we put on a brave face and ordered.  Man, how thankful were we that we ordered this?  It was crunchy with just the right amount of salt.  We had to fight over the last pieces.

photo 1 [800x600]Winding back a few steps though, cos I got so excited about the pig’s ears, was this little bundle of joy that arrived at our table after we placed our order.  What is it?  Apparently it’s some type of German bread.  You are supposed to unwrap the bundle, break the bread and serve everyone.  This warm bundle of joy was delicious- I think it had bits of shredded carrots in it or something, along with the delicious tub of butter, it was a match made in heaven.  Talking about the bundle of joy, I too took that opportunity to announce my impending bundle of joy to my friends, although some early arrivers guessed when I refused to drink :P

photo 3 [800x600]Other than Ying insisting on ordering piggy ears, I insisted on ordering mini crumpets and honeycomb $7.5.  I know I know it’s weird to be ordering this breakfast dish but they offered it on the menu!!  But, what can I say?  It was sensational.  The mini crumpets came out hot and fluffy, with a tiny sprinkling of salt and butter, and topped with honeycomb and pollen, it was salty and sweet all in one.  Oh my.

photo 4 [800x600]We also shared the mushroom arancini $8, we split this between the four of us, which I certainly regretted as I wish I could have more… like maybe the whole plate?

photo 3 (2) [800x600]Our next dish was the pork kalamaki with grilled peach $18.  I didn’t eat much of this as I was feeling a bit full by then, but from what I remembered the pork was tender and juicy and the peach really complemented the pork, even better than apple I reckon!

photo 2 (3) [800x600]Next, we shared this amazing charred quail $18.  The quail was super succulent and weirdly the grapes work beautifully with the dish.  I must say I am not normally a huge fan of fruit in my savoury stuff, but the pork and the quail dish worked so well with fruit.

photo 1 (3) [800x600]I know it seemed as if we had a lot of food, but sharing between 6 people means we get more to eat :D  Here is the baby squid with chickpeas $16.  if you have a chance, definitely try the tentacles.  I think the tentacles are deep fried cos it’s a little bit crunchy.  The other parts is stewed.  The flavours are complex and delicious.  What can I say?  Another must try :)

photo 4 (2) [800x600]Next up, a table was moved next to us, and two huge dishes was brought down together.  Then like synchronised swimming, the staff studiously started to debone the fish.

photo 5 (2) [800x600]Ta da!!!!  They deboned it and even put the whole fish back together!  I was still in my first trimester and felt sick everytime I had fish, but this fish was just so fresh and beautifully cooked.  It reminded me of the fish cooked in Italy, so simple and tasty.

photo 1 (2) [800x600]Last of our savoury items is this lamb backstrap $38.  I didn’t really eat much of this because it was medium rare, but from what I ate (the edges), it was mindblowingly good.  One of my friends even took the remaining bit I didn’t eat from me and devour it.  Yup, it was that good.

photo 2 (2) [800x600]After chilling out for a bit, the waitress bought us dessert.  Wait, we didn’t even order it, but to be honest, we happily devoured the creme brulee, lemon meringue tart, panna cotta and super duper rich but devilishly unstoppable chocolate cake.  Turned out, our awesome waitress overheard that I am pregnant and even though everyone had a drink on behalf of me, she probably felt sorry that I can’t have a drink and gave me complimentary dessert :)  Thank you thank you!  It was delicious!

I would say, after the sensational food, the amazing service, I had to rank this one of the best dining experiences I have had for a longgggg time.  9.5/10
Epocha on Urbanspoon
 

 

