Big Huey’s Diner

Big Huey’s Diner
315 Coventry Street South Melbourne
03 9686 1122

photo 1 [800x600]Having promised myself to explore more of my area, I decided to try Huey’s diner now that it’s been opened for several months.  I must admit I am not a huge fan of American diner, with the imagery of bad coffee and unhealthy food ingrained in my mind.  However, I was feeling a bit naughty this Saturday and decided to give naughty food a try.

photo 2 [800x600]I don’t even have to convince hubby to try diner style food cos he loved the whole concept of deep fried goodness… and floats.  Here we have Mexican Jarritos with Mandarin flavour float $6.  I found this float way to sweet and tasted like cough medicine, but Hubby didn’t seem to mind it.

photo 4 [800x600]Big Huey’s Diner’s menu consists of a few main sections: Setting the Scene (entrees), Huey’s Halfies (small bites), Wicked Burgers (self explanatory), Sexy Salads and Chips.  We ordered the Glenn’s Ripper Kansas City Wings ($8.5) which was smothered in fairly sour tomato/ vinegary sauce.  The promised “bit of a kick” was so miniscule we could barely detect it.  So we decided to add some hot sauce.

photo 3 [800x600]Without much of a description, we decided the Ring of Fire would be the hottest chilli sauce of them all.  Sadly it was more vinegary that hot.  Certainly no Ring of Fire the next morning :P  We weren’t too impressed by the chicken wings either, it was a bit dry.

photo 1 (2) [800x600] photo 2 (2) [800x600]I ordered one of the Halfies, The Peacemaker $8.5.  I know people in Urbanspoon keep going “the burgers are on turkish bread! Urgh” and I thought I would be one of those people, but to be honest, the Turkish bread was lightly toasty and warm and it was great with this.  So what’s the Peacemaker?  Well, it’s a burger with crispy fried oyster, spicy coleslaw and Cajun remoulade.  I really like the flavours and 3 out of 4 oysters are super fresh.  Once again, I don’t find this “spicy” coleslaw very spicy, but the flavours were so good together I didn’t really care.

photo 5 [800x600]Hubby got a nude burger $12.5 with a side of sweet potato fries $3.  The fries came 5 mins before the mains so we were left scratching our heads wondering whether they have forgotten Hubby’s mains.  Anyway, the sweet potato chips are not too oily, but it wouldn’t hurt with just a bit more salt.  We added tomato sauce with this but the sauce was disgusting.  It tasted really weird and sour instead of tomatoey.  Unfortunately hubby added it all over the sweet potato chips and we had to navigate around it.

photo 3 (2) [800x600]Hubby’s nude burger finally arrived.  I am not too sure what Hubby expected, but I didn’t see the description, so I wasn’t expecting a stew like veggies with hamburger patties swimming within.  For some reason, I thought it was slightly drier than this.  Anyway, this is hubby’s dish so it’s his choice.  That being said he wasn’t impressed by this either, commenting that this joint ain’t that special.  I tried a bit of the mushroom and veggies and thought that the veggies stew didn’t really go well with the mustard gravy.  Either have one or the other, but not both!

Overall, I thought Big Huey’s Diner was OK, there are some hits and misses.  I would definitely recommend The Peacemaker, but certainly not the other things we ordered. 5/10

Big Huey's Diner on Urbanspoon

 

