Church of Secular Coffee @ Rue & Co

Church of Secular Coffee
In Rue & Co. laneway
80 Collins St Melbourne
03 9686 2990

photo 3 [800x600]After trying out Jimmy Grants @ Rue & Co, of course I needed to try all the other food trucks that’s situated there. Church of Secular Coffee is next on my list, and let’s be upfront here though, I am not a huge coffee drinker so I didn’t try their coffee.  What I did try is their burger for lunch and crumpets for brekkie.

photo 2 [800x600]I had the St Ali Royale w Cheese Burger (at that time, $12, I think they have adjusted their prices lately).  Wagyu beef patty with brioche bun, I love everything except the beef.  Sadly, I found the beef patty a bit too gritty.  It was such a disappointment because the brioche bun was slightly sweet and so delicious, the “special” ;) sauce was amazing, the veggies were fresh, but the star of the whole thing lets it down.

photo 4 [800x600]We gave Church of Secular Coffee another go and went for brekkie a few weeks later.  I have been craving for crumpets in the last few weeks and knowing that Church of Secular Coffee serves Dr. Marty’s Crumpets (and I haven’t tried them yet), I thought I’d try them with mmmmm peanut butterrrrrr and banana chips.

I know what I am in for but I still felt $3.5 for this is a little bit exxy.  I love the crumpet itself, it was warm and fluffy.  It’s just that… peanut butter and dried banana makes this whole thing a bit dry.  I wish they have slathered on some honey to moisten the whole thing up and add a sweeter contrast to the crumpet.

photo 1 [800x600]

I am happy to leave Church of Secular Coffee for the others… next to try is of course, Kong.

Until next time…XXX

Church of Secular Coffee on Urbanspoon

