Pope Joan

Pope Joan
77-79 Nicholson Street Brunswick East, VIC
03 9388 8858

DPP_00090 [800x600]I have heard so much about Pope Joan and always wanted to come here for brunch.  Sadly it’s kinda in the other side of town and it’s a bit hard to get hubby to drive me there.  Thankfully, somehow, because Basketballfreak is here, he seemed to treasure some male bonding time and was in a mood to drive, so here we are, weirdly at dinnertime, trying out Pope Joan at night.

DPP_00091 [800x600]I really like the decor of Pope Joan- it’s warm and cozy with cute little touches like flowers and candles.

DPP_00093 [800x600]We started with some snacks of mushroom and haloumi croquettes $4 and hubby and Basketballfreak had prawn dumplings $4.  I love the croquettes but the boys only thought the prawn dumplings where okay.

DPP_00094 [800x600]The anchovy and scallop toast $6 was also delicious, although the deep friedness meant it obscured the delicate scallop flavours, I really like the sesame and crunchiness of the toast.

DPP_00095 [800x600]Kimchi cheeky cheeko roll $8 was next – This is like the Pope Joan version of a Chicko roll I think.  The pastry was a bit thick and the flavour was just slightly weird.  It’s not bad but I think I prefer normal Chicko roll.

DPP_00096 [800x600]The boys also shared the cheesy fondue, crudites and crisps $12.  I don’t know what the boys were expecting.  Not that much veggies I think.  I don’t think they realise what the term crudites meant =_=  LOL

DPP_00098 [800x600]I just realised how much the boys ate, cos this is another one of their dishes, the salt and sugar cured wallaby $19.  Once again the boys ain’t that impressed with this dish.  The flavour just wasn’t spot on and to be honest, it was hard to top the sensational venison tartare at Saint Crispin they had the other day.

DPP_00097 [800x600]In the meanwhile, I had to content myself with crinkled cut chips with house chutney $9.  I kinda get what Pope Joan is trying to do, create this old school vibe but with yummier food.  And yes, their food was yummier than what I could get in a tuckshop, but is it worth double or sometimes even triple the price?  I am not too sure.  I also think that the chips are better served as a side than an appetiser.  After we finished this we were pretty much too stuffed to eat our mains.

DPP_00100 [800x600]For mains I had a vegetarian pasta special $23 which the waitress described as cauliflower pasta which turned out to be a broccoli pasta- which was a pleasant surprise cos I like broccoli more than cauliflower!  Once again this was okay but not special.  A little bit too salty but I do like that there were slight kicks of chilli in it.  The pasta was nicely cooked also.

DPP_00099 [800x600]The boys shared the braised beef bourguignon $26 which we all reckon was really bland.  We were a bit disappointed really, Hubby said I can cook better beef bourguignon.

DPP_00101 [800x600]Often with these disappointing meals we would have skipped dessert, but preggi lady wanted her dessert so the boys decided to share between them a chocolate and honeycomb icecream sandwich $13.  I am not sure how this is an icecream “sandwich” but it was definitely delicious and I had food envy.

DPP_00102 [800x600]I had the organic apple and ginger syrup cake $14.  It must be a weird craving cos I never ever voluntarily choose anything gingery but this definitely hits the spot.  It was more pudding like than anything but it was delicious.

Overall I really wanted to like Pope Joan, but sadly it wasn’t meant to be :(  For about $50 per person with one drink, I would rather go to The Commoner for better food.  6.5/10

P.S. We spotted @essjayeff of Fringe Food Festival having dinner with her family there :)  Can’t wait for the next Truffle Dinner! :D

Pope Joan on Urbanspoon

