FRANCE: Paris~ Dine on the sly

Stay @ Commines
Eat @ Hidden Kitchen

I’ve stumbled across the Hidden Kitchen site from David Lebovitz’s food blog.  Looking at the fabulous reviews I really REALLY wanted to go, but a word of warning, you have to book in early or else you might be disappointed! (At least 2 months in advance of your chosen date!)

Basically the concept is simple- you go to this secret address at the agreed date and will be met by your hosts and about 9 other  strangers for a wonderful 10 course dinner with matching wine.

We were greeted by the lovely hostess Laura at the door with a glass of champagne with Lychee.  She’s the one who does all the wine matches and she also makes a mean puff pastry you will later see.

Our ten course dinner is the most amazing and creative dinner ever.  It would be safe to say that it is one of the best dinners we have in Paris.

Amuse: Green Gazpacho.  Really herby tasting concoction with a crunchy refreshing cucumber cracker on the side

Spring Vegetables, poached quail egg and Green Goddess dressing: beautiful crunchy fresh vegetables combined with a perfectly cooked quail egg.  Nom nom nom!

House made Tagliatelle:  a very light pasta dish with pesto, asparagus and ricotta.  Another fantastic spring dish to have, combining the freshest ingredients.  I wish there is more, but I understand now that good things comes in small packages.

Clam & Mussels broth:  Another fabulous dish.  I don’t know how they did it, some seafood broth tasted fishy, but they must have used the freshest clam and mussels.  The only problem is they said they used Habanero which is supposed to be spicy but it wasn’t at all 😦  I would love to have had it a bit spicier I guess, but it’s fine otherwise.

Chicken liver ravioli-  This is the dish I like least.  The chicken liver is a bit dry, but I do like the little preserved lemon”dots”.

Perfectly cooked flank steak.  It has beautiful texture and it tastes sensational.  Every plate presented to each of the guest has the same consistent quality, and the murmuring of appreciation from all the guests confirmed what I have suspected- this is REALLY good.

Quinoa salad: To be honest, I don’t really like quinoa, so I can’t rate this dish at all 😛

Dessert & Petit Fours: Oh my god.  This dessert.  Strawberry shiso sorbet w/ puff pastry, shiso cream and rhubarb.  AMAZING.  They have successfully captured the essence of strawberries into the sorbet, and Laura made the best puff pastry ever.  In combination of minty, basily shiso made a very light and tasty dessert.

Of course the downfall are those rich- looking, yummie donuts.  Fortunately it wasn’t as rich as it looked cos I had about four of them- they are honestly irresistible!

