Indonesia: Bali~ Ibu Oka Babi Guling

Stay @ Uma Ubud

Ibu Oka Babi Guling
Jalan Suweta/Tegal Sari No. 2, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia

My Ubud friend Dek told me about this Babi Guling place first, little did I know it was actually famous around the blog and trip advisor world!  Situated next to the Palace, it’s apparently a hangout for locals and tourists alike.

Babi Guling is roast pork rubbed in Balinese spices.  We ordered the “special” that means they give you anything from pork meat, to pork skin, offal and blood sausages.  This is served with rice, a bit of urap (mixed vegies with chopped and some ginger and shallot sauce on the side .

Whilst it was pretty cheap (I think it was AUD$3) and tasted alright, I reckon is not as good as Hong Kong roast pork.

That being said it was an interesting experience.  The spices on the pork was flavoursome, the pork was tender and moist and the rice had all the pork fat, spices and ginger sauce soaked through it, which is very nice.  I don’t really mind the blood sausage or what I think it’s the deep fried offal but the thought of it made my stomach churn so I only took a small bite.

That time we visited, the most disappointing thing was the skin for me.  It was hard and chewy- I was quite unhappy about it.  However my dining companions all have awesome pork skin so I guess it was just my dish.

So a few days later, just before we left for the airport, I went back to Ibu Oka again and this time ordered just pork skin.  Thankfully they had some and thankfully I decided to give it another go because this time, the skin is crispy and flavoursome- just as I would expect some fantastic pork skin would be.

Overall I would probably say this is a 6/10 place, there are some hits and misses but for that price it’s not too bad.


