Kairikiya Ramen

Kairikiya Ramen ラーメン魁力屋
京都市中京区河原町通三条上ル恵比須町435番地2 ヒジカタビル1F
Cnr of Ebisucho and Kawaramachi Dori, Downtown Kyoto
075-251-0303

We stumbled across Kairikiya Ramen on our last trip in Kyoto- they are like a ramen chainstore, there are at least 4 of them in Kyoto and 7 of them in Osaka!  But it seemed like the stores in Kyoto are in a more central location.

I remembered last time we had Ramen in Kairikiya, we decided to order extra spring onion.  Little did we know that means we are having noodles with a whole bowl of spring onions!  I swear I reeked of spring onion 2 days after eating that bowl of ramen!

This time, I ordered the normal bowl with a serve of gyoza and rice as a set meal.  OK so the soup looked as if it’s gonna give you a heart attack but those fattiness is what makes it sooooo yummy!  Anyway we are only having it once a while so it’s not that bad….mmmm.

The noodles in the ramen is still not the curly, bouncy type that I liked, but it does have a slight chewiness to it which is acceptable.  The egg, as you can see, is perfectly cooked.

The gyoza on the other hand was a bit oily for my liking and it was just a bit too meaty.  I guess nothing compares to Sukemasa in the gyoza department.

Overall, for a cheap meal (AUD$9), I would give it a 7.5/10

For a round up of where I went and what I ate in Japan, please click here

