Battle of the HK Egg Waffles!!

There’s one thing in HK that gets me ultra excited- HK Egg Waffles!!!  I asked a number of Twitter Peeps and FB friends where I should go for HK Egg Waffles and e_ting from e*ting the world gave me a few tips.  Check out her blog post on HK Egg Waffles here.

Although armed with a list of potential Egg Waffle places, I didn’t have much time to go to all of them.  The one day I did went in search for Tai Hang Grandpa, is wasn’t there 😥  For those in the know, he mostly only open on the weekends, in a little laneway next to the Metropark Hotel near Tin Hau Station- must visit next time!

Anyway, so eventually I tried two HK style egg waffle place, Granville Uncle in TST (HK Lingo for Tsim Sha Tsui) and another in CWB (Causeway Bay) named New Era (ok that’s a direct translation cos there’s no english name).  So which one is tastier?

Granville Uncle 豐記雞蛋仔
34 Granville Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong
尖沙咀加連威老道34號地下

I got to “Granville Uncle” Tsim Sha Tsui at around 11am, and I think they were just about to open, so I walked around a little bit before venturing back to the shop.  There are several different flavours at Granville Uncle’s store.  Although I was really tempted to try the chocolate and taro flavours, I have decided to stick to the original so I can have a fair comparison.

Granville Uncle asked whether I want a crispier version or a softer version.  From my experience, HK egg waffle should be crispy on the outside with a soft “yolk” inside.  So I asked for a crispier version $12.

Sadly, crispy, in this case, is CRUNCHY, inside and out!  It was a texture fail.  Flavour-wise, the fragrant eggy flavours are also lacking, which was quite disappointing.

New Era 新時代美食 (Causeway Bay HK Style Egg Waffle)
Corner Matheson Street / Russell Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong
2 勿地臣街, 銅鑼灣
(852) 2504 3386

The next day I tried “New Era”.  With their HK style egg waffle, there is only one flavour- original, to choose from.

As you can see, the colour of HK Egg Waffles looked a bit brown.  I was a bit hesitant to buy it, but I am desperate- I wantz mai HK Egg Waffles!  So we got one.  At HKD$15 (AUD$2) a pop it’s preddy expensive for egg waffles.  But hey, I paid bloody HKD$40 (AUD $5) in Melbourne for bloody egg waffles, so this is just a drop in the ocean.

Anywayz, back to the CWB egg waffles.  It has a really nice eggy flavour, but sadly it’s not very crispy and it was a bit soggy and one side was a bit burnt.

Overall, I don’t think I’ve found the perfect perfect HK style egg waffles this time.  Between these two, I would definitely choose CWB over TST.  However, I felt that I should perhaps ask for a less crispy TST ones to give them a chance.  There’s always next time ^^

In the meanwhile,  I discovered Shoe Queen’s friend has one of those egg waffles pan- now I am going to publicly plea that friend to lend it to me, so I can make my own yummy HK style waffles.  Please?  Pretty Please?

 

For more yumgasmic Hong Kong eatz, please click here

