Tsui Wah翠華

Tsui Wah 翠華 TST
G/F & Cockloft, 2 Carnarvon Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kln, Hong Kong
(852) 2366 8250

Good old Tsui Wah.  Everytime I go to Hong Kong, these kind of cha chaan teng is a must visit.  Tsui Wah is one of the more famous cha chaan teng so of course I need to blog about that!  What the hell is cha chaan teng you ask.  Cha Chaan Teng is a Hong Kong thing, a cafe style restaurant that offers cheap Asian-Western style fast food.

What I love about Tsui Wah and any cha chaan teng that they open early.  I was supposed to meet up with my high school friend Angel for breakfast at 9:45am.  Ridiculously, Starbucks is not opened yet (actually, thankfully for me, cos I didn’t want to go to Starbucks anyway!), but luckily, good old Tsui Wah is open for busy! YAY!

I know this looks VERY huge for a breakfast dish- but I just can’t help it- I am not gonna just have boring stuff like eggs, ham and sausage on toast (which they do offer also!).   So what’s this quirky bally dish?  The English menu said “Fish curd w/ Vermicelli in Fish Soup” FISH CURD?  I KNOW it doesn’t sound that awesome, but it’s actually a fish ball made with beancurd and chives which is in actual fact pretty awesome.  And for HKD$32 (AUD$4) for a big bowl of noodles with some KICK ASS chilli, you definitely can’t go too wrong with that.

Angel also ordered Crispy Bun, which is only HKD$10 at breakfast time (AUD$1.3).  If you have never had Tsui Wah’s awesome Crispy Bun, you are TOTALLY missing out dudes!  Lightly toasted so it’s crispy on the outside and oh-so-soft on the inside, it has lashings of condense milk and butterrrrrrr.  Oh. My. God.  Ok, so orgasm in the mouth sounded a bit disgusting when ahem condense milk is whitish and all (you get the innuendo) but it’s SERIOUSLY yum. (God I hope I don’t turn you off it now, it was seriously good).

Tsui Wah 翠華 HK Airport
Shop 7E 180, Level 7 Departures East Hall, Terminal 1, Hong Kong International Airport, Chek Lap Kok, N.T.
(852) 2261 0277

Before we left for Hong Kong, we also decided to have Tsui Wah in the HK airport cos it was so awesome.  As you can see there’s a huge queue but you don’t have to wait for too long.  They do have a pretty faultless process in all the Hong Kong fast food joints.

The iconic Crispy bun is available in all Tsui Wahs so it’s definitely available in the airport store although I did not order it this time, as much as I wanted to.  It’s breakfast time AGAIN and this time it was at an ungodly hour of 7:30am, I wanted something savoury.

Yes, so I am a bit crazy and at 7:30am, I ordered a noodle soup.  And not just some plain noodle soup but this kickarse, “Japanese” style soft pork rib vermicelli noodle soup.  Breakfast of the Champions.  Ohhhh yeahhh.  You can eat the “bones” of the soft pork ribs, which is really pork cartilage.  Apparently it’s really good for our cartridge and ligaments if you eat it.  The Chinese firmly believes in eating a particular body part of an animal will strengthen the corresponding body part.  So if you are dumb you should eat more pork brains, if you are a runner you should eat more chicken feet etc… you get the idea.

What I really love about the HK airport Tsui Wah is that you get the said AWESOME chilli oil, individually packed.  I should have grabbed more solely due to the pure awesomeness of this chilli.  WOOT!!!  8.5/10

If you like my blog, like my facebook page too ^^

For more yumgasmic Hong Kong eatz, please click here

