Causeway Bay HK Style Egg Waffles!

photo 1 [640x480]Dear readers, if you know me well, you should know that I am OBSESSED with Hong Kong egg waffles. I search high and low for them when I go back to Hong Kong, because I know full well that when I go back to Melbourne, the standard of egg waffles will not be the same (nor will the price).

In Hong Kong, you could probably get these little morsels for AUD$1.5-2. In Melbourne, you will get them for AUD$4.5-5- that’s almost $40 Hong Kong dollars for some not-up-to-scratch egg waffles!

Anyway I digress. Last time I was extremely disappointed because I couldn’t find my Causeway Bay Egg Waffle man. He was made famous by his encounters with the Health Department. Egg Waffles used to be a street food, but as the regulations tightened and the Health Department went around issuing huge fines to street food carts, this industry is dying. Egg waffles carts started to be incorporated into snack stores instead, aong with fish ball carts, pig intestine cart, bamboo juice cart. They all become this mega snack store that sells all of the above, in one place. Not a lot specialize in one food as they need to diversify to cater for all tastes and maxmise their rent dollar.

photo 4 [640x480]But here he is, the Causeway Bay Egg Waffle man, by himself with the lonely cart, hidden in a lane way between a hotel and a restaurant, still making egg waffles on Saturdays and Sundays to avoid the health department. Eat your heart out Melbourne, this is what you called lane way dining lol.

photo 3 [640x480]photo 2 [640x480]Whilst many snack stores uses electric or gas egg waffle pans, this man insisted in doing it the traditional way- coals. That means he had to keep adding coals into his double furnace in order to make sure that there is just enough heat to cook the egg waffles. It’s probably a lost art now.

If he is there, you don’t have to worry that you couldn’t find him. There’s a huge queue all the time. Curious onlookers will peek and have a look at what it’s about, while serious foodies will have their camera ready to take pics.

We waited for about 15-20 mins, and finally it’s our turn. The man smiled his semi toothless grin at us and told us to help him fan our Hk egg waffles. This is the important part- you fan it to make sure it’s crispy. Yum yum.

And the verdict? Well. I actually didn’t like his egg waffles. I know. It’s such a let down. No, it’s not as bad as the ones in Melbourne, but there are two main things I didn’t like about this egg waffle.

1) it tasted too eggy. Maybe if the eggs is really really fresh it might be ok, but the eggs doesn’t taste that fresh.
2) the ingredient inside this egg waffle filled up the whole puff. Normally, the Hk egg waffles are only half filled, the outside should be crispy and the inside is pillowy soft. When I was younger I love to bite off all the crispy bits and eat the soft pillowy bits later. But since the Causeway Bay man’s egg waffle is filled to the brim and stuck to all the edges, you can’t really do that.

While I appreciate the passion and insistence of the Causeway Bay man, if you ask me whether I would go back again, I would say no.

photo 5 [640x480]

