Huxtaburger (City Store)

Huxtaburger
Fulham Pl off Flinders Lane, Melbourne
03 9417 6328

photo 1 [640x480]One very very hungry Saturday morning, we decided to check out Huxtaburger’s new city store. Huxtaburger opened about 2 months ago and but for those not in the know, the location is pretty hard to find. Situated in the back of an office building off a lane way on Little Collins St (close to Queen St end) there are no signage except this blinking light that said “Cold beer” and “Hot beef”. But come 12 noon, even on a weekend in the city, this place is packed with people.

photo 2 [640x480]Thankfully we went slightly early so I could take a few photos of the stainless steel counter and their diner-like decor.

photo 3 [640x480]We ordered two burgers and a chipotle fries. Hubby kept going “I wanna eat Vanessa!” and laughing raucously at his own joke (and people kept saying I am the dirty one!)

photo 1 (2) [640x480]Vanessa turned out to be an All Day breakfast with egg, cheese and bacon. Hubby thought that it was yummy and scoffed it down quite quickly. He then turned to me with a cheeky grin and went “want me to help you eat Denise?”

photo 2 (2) [640x480]I rolled my eyes and turned back to my burger, Denise, the hot one. Well let’s just say I didn’t think it was really hot, even though it was loaded with jalapeños. But then again I love adding chilli to stuff so Denise is probably spicy for other people.

The burger was yummy though and have a lovely chargrilled flavour. I felt that is on the small side but I was surprisingly full halfway through and did eventually let hubby eat Denise for me. :p. I love the brioche bun more than anything as I found the beef patty has a little bit of grits in it.

photo 4 [640x480]The fries on the other hand was nothing special, it was a bit bland and dry overall and copious amount of tomato sauce didn’t really save it. I think the curly fries at The Parlour are still the best.

All in all, I won’t say Huxtaburger is the best in Melbourne but it’s not a bad choice for city workers looking for an alternative to fast food burgers. 7/10

Huxtaburger on Urbanspoon