Yung Kee

photo 1 [640x480]Yung Kee is hugely famous for its roasted goose. I have heard a heap load of foreigners going there because it’s so famous. I must admit from memory I don’t remember going there when I was young, but then again I wasn’t a foodie back then and possibly have no idea.

photo 2 [640x480]We took our uncle to Yung Kee to thank him for letting us stay at his place during our Hong Kong trip. We obviously ordered the famous roast goose. I must say it was well marinated and flavoursome, but was it the best goose I have ever had? From memory not really. What I really love though is the marinated beans underneath the goose. I remember refusing to eat it when I was younger but now I really appreciate its slight sweetness in the otherwise salty dish.

photo 3 [640x480]We also ordered a broccoli and mushroom dish with crab sauce. It was a rather bland dish.

photo 1 (2) [640x480]The crab roe fried rice was another slight disappointment. I suppose I was expecting to see small bits of crab roe in the dish, but either they put too little crab roe in the fried rice or the mushed it up too much, the crab roe and flavour were non-existent, much to my disappointment.

photo 2 (2) [640x480]I kept forgetting that there’s bird flu in China and most people in HK are scared of ordering chicken/ pigeons etc and ordered a serve of crispy skin chicken. It was a waste of calories as it wasn’t even cooked properly. The skin wasn’t as perfectly crispy as I would like and the meat is not very tender.

Of course compare to the chinese restaurants in Australia was still a very decent meal, however there are much yummier food in Hong Kong than wasting my calories on this one. 6/10

