Kanizen Hong Kong

Kanizen 蟹膳
G/F, 3 Thomson Road, Wan Chai 灣仔譚臣道3號地下
852 2866 1618

photo 3 (2) [640x480]I was watching TV in Hong Kong one night when I saw a lifestyle show inthe English channel about some eateries in Hong Kong. One of which they pulled out dishes after dishes of Japanese style crabs. It looked so mouth watering that I had to look up the restaurant and go eat there. The weird thing about the Hong Kong lifestyle show is that the presenter never say the name of the restaurant. They always say “we went to this fab Japanese crab restaurant in Wan Chai…” but it often whipped me up into such lusting frenzy that I was googling “crab restaurant Hong Kong wan chai” just to find it. Of course in the credits they would eventually show which restaurant it is, but by that time I have already found out that it’s called Kanizen, called them and there is already a waiting list for lunch time on a weekday. Geez.

photo 1 [640x480]Kanizen does look very zen and exclusive. We went through two wooden doorway into the restaurant, where there is a fish bowl of mini crabs crawling around on our table and live cooking stations in front of us. The crabs looked as if they were frantically trying to crawl out, and I was not too sure whether it’s because they thought they are gonna get cooked or whether because they are so close to the heat of the cooking stations that they are being slowly cooked to death :/

photo 5 [640x480]Anyway hubby and I ordered set lunches, and I even added a crab roe on toast for myself. For those who don’t know me, I love roes of anything… Crab, prawn, sea urchin, scallops..This crab roe toast was super tasty but sadly wasn’t very satisfying as it was just a thin smear of crab roe…. I want more!!!!!!!

photo 2 (3) [640x480]Now onto my set lunch- it started off with steamed egg custard with crab meat.  It was nicely cooked but nothing super special about it.

photo 2 [640x480]

Whilst I am eating my egg custard, the waiter opened up this steaming station in front of me, because my set lunch is a steam crabby rice set!

photo 4 [640x480]

photo 3 [640x480]Doesn’t it look pretty?  Anyway, continuing my set lunch, I had this crab stick with raw egg as a dipping sauce.

photo 1 (3) [640x480]Throwing caution out the window (bird flu blah blah blah) I started dipping the crab stick into the eggy sauce. Heehee.  It was nice although the texture was more like crab paste you eat in hot pot place.

photo 3 (3) [640x480]After steaming for about 15 or so minutes, my steam crab rice is finally ready.  The chef mixed the rice a little and presented it in a bowl to me.

The crab flavour wasn’t really that prominent which was a disappointment.  To be honest the whole thing tasted a bit bland.  Thankfully there were fish roes which gave it some flavour.  I haven’t tried cooked fish roe before but it didn’t taste too bad.

photo 4 (2) [640x480]

We also got icecream with our meals too but I couldn’t remember what flavour it was.  I think amoungst all the Japanese food places I have been to, this is the most forgettable meal I have had so far.  Not bad, just wasn’t really great. 6.5/10photo 2 (2) [640x480]

