Piggy in Firenze (Florence): All’antico Vinaio

All’antico Vinaio
Via dei Neri, 74 Florence, Italy
+39 055 238 2723

photo 1 (2) [640x480]A huge hello from Florence!  I must say, this is one of my favorite place in Italy.  I am not too sure why, maybe it’s the vibe of the place or the food we had, it was just a great place to be.  I know why Hubby likes Florence though- everywhere he turned he can see backdrops for Assassins Creed.  Geeky.
Upon arriving at Florence, we bought the Firenze Card,€50 Euros gave us access to many museums and churches in the city.  Sadly the awesome fashion museums are not included.  Oh well, that just means we have to go next time.
photo 2 (2) [640x480]The second order of business is of course FOOD!  As Ms Hot Guns have been to Florence before she recommended a few awesome places to go to.  One of which was All’antico Vinaio.
photo 3 (2) [640x480]Operated by 2 young and friendly brothers, it attracts a younger crowd, with queues forming at around 12 noon.  They don’t have a huge shop and can only seat about 8 people at a time, so most patrons are found munching at the curbside.
photo 5 [640x480]So what DO they sell?  Pretty much one thing: focaccias.  You choose your 4 fillings for €5.  At first I thought geez that sounds incredibly boring…It just sounded like Subway.  Well, that was until I was the variety of meat hanging on their ceiling, stored on their cabinet, and a HUGE roll of porchetta resting on a pan.  Oh my.
photo 4 [640x480]Don’t even get me started on their choice of “creams” (dips?)- artichoke, fresh cheese, BLACK TRUFFLE… To name a few.  As well as 5 types of cheeses, none of them plastic, thank you very much.
photo 1 [640x480]We saw the patron before us getting offered a “surprise me” focaccia, and decide we wanted one too!  For mine, I told one of the hawt brothers that I wanted Truffle cream, and surprise me with the rest.  What I got was a freshly baked focaccia with lashings of delicious shaved ham, mozzarella, a heapload of black truffle cream and freshly sliced tomato.  Simple, but yumgasmic.
One slight grumble though- I felt the foccacia was too thick for the fillings.  I mean, the filling was generous, but the slices of bread was huge!  I had to push the bread aside and simply eat the fillings as it was just too much.
photo 2 [640x480]We even managed to nab a seat under the hanging salami and got to check out what other people ordered.  By the time we finished a huge crowd gathered- everyone wants a slice of the delicious All’antico Vinaio.  8/10
photo 3 [640x480]Check out the rest of my awesome European Adventures here!
