Piggy’s Museum Series- Part One+ A Perfect Lunch

Hubby was having a man flu during our stay in Florence and he decided to stay holed up in the hotel.  Sigh!  As we bought a 50 Euro Firenze (Florence) pass each I had to go to all the museums by myself to get our value for money god dammit!

photo 1 [640x480]So I had to wake up super early in the morning to hike up to the lookout and visit some of the museums nearby.  But first, I saw the fake David perched on the lookout.  Yup, he is kinda hawt and a bit green looking… definitely not as big 😉 as the real one, which I would see soon enough.

photo 3 [640x480]photo 4 [640x480]Next I went to Palazzo Pitti with 4 museums: Silver museum, costume museum, Gallery of Modern Arts and Royal Apartments which is super grand.  Too bad I am not allowed to take photos in most of the museums, because there are a lot of interesting things in the costume and silver museum, definitely worth a visit.

photo 1 (5) [640x480]Walking back was beautiful, Florence was such a breathtaking city.  It’s definitely one of my favourite Italian city.

I also quickly checked out the San Lorenzo market in Florence- there are just SO much food in there.  I quickly bought some truffle oil and kept going.

photo 3 (5) [640x480] photo 2 (5) [640x480]Over the next few hours I went to both small and large museums and churches.  Some have hidden gems like the “other” last supper…

photo 4 (5) [640x480]Museum of Archeology which has the most interesting gems…

photo 1 (6) [640x480] photo 2 (6) [640x480]By the time I ventured out, it was already almost 3pm!  I was a little bit light headed by then and think I had a bit of a heat stroke 😦  I went to a cafe nearby, although sadly I tried and tried but couldn’t find the cafe’s name.  On the board it only said “Un Caffe” and it’s on Via Cesare Battisti 😦

photo 3 (2) [640x480]photo 3 (6) [640x480]photo 4 (6) [640x480]This place is tiny as and it’s filled with students.  It has such a great vibe and the people are super friendly even though I was probably the only tourist there… and all by myself too!  LOL

photo 5 (4) [640x480]Mr Ben has been raving on and on about Shakeretto, so I thought it’s a great time to try one whilst my energy is flagging and the weather was so hot.  It was really good and it’s probably one of the best shakeretto I had in the whole trip.  Awesome!

photo 2 (2) [640x480]I wasn’t feeling too well so I decided to have something light.  This salad was simply perfect.  It was so fresh and tasty.  They actually freshly made each and every salad, slicing tomatoes to order.

photo 1 (2) [640x480]I am so glad I peeked into this gorgeous little cafe.  No trip advisor sign, not even a name, but this place made me felt like home.  9.5/10

Off I went on my next set of museums!

Check out the rest of my awesome European Adventures here!

