Piggy’s Museum Series- Part Two

After a perfect lunch near the Museum of Archealogy, I kept walking around trying to find museums to visit.  As I mentioned on my previous post, Hubby was having a man flu during our stay in Florence and he decided to stay holed up in the hotel.  Since we bought a 50 Euro Firenze (Florence) pass each I had to go to all the museums by myself to get our value for money.  So onwards I ventured, to Galleria dell’Accademia.  Upon seeing the huge line, I was thinking omg what so good about an Academic museum?  And why is there a poster about gigolo David?  Who the hell is gigolo David?  So I ventured off to another museum nearby.

photo 4 (2) [640x480]Thankfully the other museum is closed and to get my value for money, I decided to go back and line up for Galleria dell’Accademia.  After queuing up for about 20 mins, I finally got in to see musical instruments.  STILL not realising what’s so special about this museum I turned the corner and there it was- DAVID, in all its glory.  LOL… it turns out the sign said Giglio David and it’s THE original David Sculpture!  Oh dear.  Talk about an uncultured swine.  :/

photo 5 [640x480]I went back to the hotel to tell Man-flu Hubby  this funny story and after laughing at my stupidity he decided to go to see David also!  @_@  As I can’t go back in again, I decided to venture off to this tiny little Gelateria named Carabe as the guy in front of us in the queue for Galleria dell’Accademia raved about it.

photo 2 (4) [640x480] photo 1 (4) [640x480]Carabe has a range of gelato and granita, which made it super hard to choose.  But in the end I decided to go with pistachio.

photo 3 (4) [640x480]I reckon this was one of the nicest gelato I have had in this trip.  The pistachios flavours were quite prominent and not too sweet.  I love it!

photo 5 (3) [640x480]Afterwards, we ventured off to the tower of Museo di Palazzo Vecchio to look at the beautiful view of Florence.  Isn’t this gorgeous?

photo 1 (3) [640x480]We saved the best till last, heading off to Museo Galileo.  Although this is a museum of utlimate geekiness (aka Science), I had the most fun at this museum.  Maybe it’s cos hubby’s there with me, but maybe it’s more because I don’t know anyhting about it, so I had the best time guessing incorrectly what the scientific instruments are.  LOL

photo 4 (3) [640x480] photo 5 (2) [640x480] photo 3 (3) [640x480]After visiting 10 museums in one day, it’s a huge sense of accomplishment but it was also incredibly exhausting.  Did I get our value for money?  You bet!  But next time I got to Florence, I would definitely not buy the Florence card again. Not because I didn’t enjoy my day, but I wanted to go shopping and go to some awesome fashion museums not included in the Florence card- heehee!

Check out the rest of my awesome European Adventures here!

