Piggy getting drunk at Chianti!

Hello Pigging Out Around the World readers! This morning we hired a car to drive to Chianti vineyard area then staying a few nights at beautiful Siena. Word of warning: If you can help it, DON’T HIRE CARS FROM EUROPCARS in Florence! They are so rude and inefficient. Grrrrrrrrr. I regretted hiring cars from them.

Beautiful Chianti

Beautiful Chianti

Hubby was assigned the heroic task of driving a manual car on the left hand side…. on his first round about he went the wrong way!  Oopppppssss! But very soon, he got used to driving on the wrong (:P) side of the road and even “did what the Romans do”- speeding is mandatory, indicating is optional!

IMG_5220 [640x480] IMG_5219 [640x480]But Hubby got the gist of it pretty quickly and it didn’t take long for us to get to beautiful Castello di Verrazzano at Chianti.

Castello di Verrazzano
Via Castello di Verrazzano, 1, 50022 Greve In Chianti
+39 055 854243

IMG_5252 [640x480]OK, I need to admit right now that I had plenty to drink so I might not remember a lot.  😛  I remember we did enjoy ourselves though! LOL.  We had a short tour at the winery which is named after the wild boars (Verra) that live around the estate.

IMG_5240 [640x480] IMG_5254 [640x480]Look at all these wine barrels!  Why are they so tiny?  HA!  Tricked ya!  The small barrels are actually balsamic vinegar.  ^^  I am not drunk yet.

IMG_5255 [640x480]NOW we are in serious business!  We got to try a few of their wines.  Unfortunately I am not a huge wine person so I can’t really remember what we drank but obviously it’s really good with the food we ate.  I have learnt ever since our Spain trip 5 years ago to not buy wine whilst we are travelling.  We learnt that painful lesson when we had to pay excess luggage (not to mention lugging it around) as we bought 8 bottles of wine in Spain.  We ended up drinking a few bottles in France (I know!) and lugging the rest of them around France, Italy, London and Japan.  It was painful.

IMG_5258 [640x480]IMG_5259 [640x480]As wild boars run abound in this property, we started off with some cured boar meat.

IMG_5260 [640x480]Then there were some penne cooked al dente with a simple tomato sauce.  For some reason it tasted so delicious.

IMG_5261 [640x480]The boar ribs and sausage had a beautiful smokey flavour.  We all overate as everything was simple yet delicious.  I even started crunching on the soft bones of the boar ribs!  LOL

photo 1 [640x480]Even as we are clutching our full bellies we had to try this- cheese with a teaspoon of their balsamic vinegar.  Oh my lord!

photo 2 [640x480]For dessert, we got biscotti to go with the sweet wine.

photo 3 [640x480]I was so drunk that I dropped some biscotti into my wine… Hubby pretended not to know me, although we are the only Asians there 😛

photo 5 [640x480]Woot!  We are happy little buggers!  One of the other guys in the wine tour thought we were hilarious cos four of us are stuffed into this little Fiat Panda so she took a picture for us.  LOL

Next Stop: Galavanting around Siena!

Check out the rest of my awesome European Adventures here!

