Piggy in Siena: Osteria la traverna di San Giuseppe

photo 1 (4) [640x480]Day two in Siena we have some exciting things in store for us. We planned to visit the town, then it’s a cooking class with a real Nonna!

photo 3 (4) [640x480] photo 2 (4) [640x480]After a simple breakfast at our very own castle, Castello delle Quattro Torra, we drove a short distance and parked near the city walls. It turns out, we can’t actually drive into Siena town, but there are plenty of parking spaces around the city walls. This is fantastic though as it kept the facade of the city fairly traditional.

photo 4 (4) [640x480]We walked around the little laneways, and at times followed the crowd until all of a sudden, we found the square where they have a bareback horserace annually in this square. This is equivalent to the Bull Race in Spain, but this square doesn’t look big at all, we simply could not imagine a hundred horses racing around the joint. hubby even thought that I was pulling his leg!

photo 5 (4) [640x480]We went up to the tower which was slightly claustrophobic, as the stair cases were so narrow. But we could see this amazing view of Siena city, which looks a bit like Assassins Creed again (or so hubby says!)

Then of course, we had to do the most important thing of the day: Eat!

photo 3 (3) [640x480]

Osteria la traverna di San Giuseppe
Via Giovanni Duprè, 132, 53100 Siena Province of Siena, Italy
+39 0577 42286

I think I found Osteria la traverna di San Giuseppe on the Michelin Guide website again, and whilst it doesn’t have a star, it was highly recommended by Michelin Guide.

photo 4 (3) [640x480]We couldn’t find this damn place at first, but if you keep walking, Osteria la traverna di San Giuseppe is just under the arch of the bridge.

photo 3 [640x480]The menu on offer was extremely extensive, and truffles featured heavily on their menu. I decided to try their quail egg on polenta with pork sausage and truffle. I assumed that there will be tiny specks of truffle here and there, but imagine my surprise and glee when I saw that this dish was covered with fragrant truffles! Oh my nom!

photo 5 [640x480]Hubby was still feeling quite sick and lost his appetite, so he only had a salad. The salad was amazing though, fresh mixed leaves with bits of strawberries, balsamic vinegar, fresh pecorino, pear, apples and fennel. It was really weird considering Hubby usually hates fruit in his salad and he certainly hates fennel, but he finished every bit of it. Maybe he is pregnant lol. Dr. Ben and Ms Hot Guns thought Hubby’s was the dish of the day but I had to disagree. What could beat the amazing combination of truffle and quail egg?

photo 4 (2) [640x480]I was getting a little sick of pasta by the time I got to Siena (it took 1.5 weeks of having pasta every day! That’s not too bad!) so I decided to try their risotto with Chianti wine and sausage. It was seriously just that. The wine flavour was very prominent in the dish, and it even had two halves of a grape there! It’s not bad, but I think I am ready to go back to pasta. LOL

photo 3 (2) [640x480]Ms Hot Guns had the home made pasta with wild boar sauce and porcini mushroom. I thought her Primi tasted fantastic and there was definitely some food envy there.

photo 5 (2) [640x480]Dr. Ben was trying to eat healthy, so he ordered a pasta with leek, pumpkin, saffron etc. basically a vegetarian pasta. It turned up though, his pasta was the richest out of the lot! I think he got KO’d by that pretty much.

Dessert time and between the four of us we decided to have the tiramisu and wood fruit strudel.

photo 2 [640x480]I am not too sure whether this is normal but at this restaurant they have a special dessert table where they prepare all the desserts out in the open. And it’s actually the waiters preparing our desserts, not the chef. That being said when I say “prepare”, everything was premade e.g. Tiramisu was already made and displayed in a cabinet. The waiter had to put the decorations, scoop the ice cream etc and they made a flair of it.

photo 2 (3) [640x480]The tiramisu was a bit too rich and sweet for my liking. I have yet to find a tiramisu that I truly love, but then again I liked the Jamie Oliver bastardized version… I am sure it’s just like Westerners who just stick to lemon chicken and Mongolian lamb so feel free to roll your eyes at me.

photo 1 (3) [640x480]Overall the food was simple but hearty, I would definitely recommend Osteria la Traverna di San Giuseppe if you ever visit Siena!

photo 5 (3) [640x480]Sadly after this meal hubby somehow passed his man flu to me and I started to get sinusey. Not great when you are going to a hands on cooking class! So we pop into a pharmacy to buy some drugs. Yes, can you imagine a pharmacy looking that opulent in Australia? It was amazing!

Check out the rest of my awesome European Adventures here!

