Wong’s Lucky Bar

Wong’s Lucky Bar
921 Whitehorse Rd Box Hill
03 9899 8558

We were having dinner at The Italian one night, when Shoe Queen mentioned this dodgey looking but awesome crab noodles place at Box Hill.  I love the sound of anything dodgey looking but awesome, so I immediately suggested we go immediately next weekend.

photo 3 [640x480]This place is extremely weird, it’s kinda in the middle of the traffic island in Whitehorse Road next to a tram stop.  Interesting place to have a cafe that’s for sure.

photo 1 [640x480]Although on Urbanspoon this place is called “Wong’s Lucky Bar” the signage clearly said it’s Wang’s.  Anyhoo, this place does look slightly dodgey but nothing compares to that time we were in Bali with the cart noodles, where we only realised later that the hawker didn’t actually wash the bowls and he reuses the soup… Yikes.

photo 5 [640x480]Anyhoo we were greeted by a friendly waitress who told us the crabs are really fresh today.  At $18.80 per pound (yah I have no idea why they measure by pound) we got this 5 pound crab.  The crab was certainly meaty, sometimes you get “water” crab which is full of water and not much meat.  I was impressed.  Although I prefer the sauce slightly thicker so it can cling onto the noodles.  I think the noodles were about $5 per piece and we had 3 pieces for 4 to share.  The noodles itself was OK, not as al dente as I would like it to be, but it wasn’t too bad.

photo 4 [640x480]We also had pipis stir fry with dough stick $22.  It was OK… I think I preferred small pipis better than larger ones.  The sauce was also too thick… I think my friend PT cooks ones that are much tastier.

photo 2 [640x480]Overall, I think Wong’s Lucky Bar is alright, the star of the dishes, the crab was really quite nice although other dishes are a bit of a hit and miss.  7/10

 
Wong's Lucky Bar on Urbanspoon

