Ristorante San Silvestro in Cantina

Ristorante San Silvestro in cantina
Piazza Minghetti, 2, 40124 Bologna
+39 051 087 3486

photo 3 [640x480]Bologna on a Sunday means one thing:  Most of the shops are closed.  The city was hot and sticky and we lazed around the hotel for a long long time.  Then we crawled out into the heat to lunch.  After our terrible experience at All’Osteria Bottega, we were a bit wary of tourist traps.

photo 1 [640x480]However, walking along Piazza Minghetti we came across this nice looking restaurant with a hot waiter 😉  We decided to take our chances and try this place.  We sat outside under big white beautiful umbrellas, there was the warmth of the sun, the wind in our hair and life seemed perfect.

photo 3 (2) [640x480]We were given some really addictive cheesy biscuity things which is calorific for sure.

photo 2 [640x480]Also complimentary was this cheesy toast with ham.  It was really yummy but I wasn’t sure how authentic this is?

photo 4 [640x480]Undaunted by the lacklusture pasta with ragu sauce last night at All’Osteria Bottega, hubby tried the same thing again today (9 Euro).  The ragu was certainly better at Ristorante San Silvestro in Cantina, it was tasty, rich and saucy.

I decided to try their Gramigna alla salsiccia (9 Euro).  I didn’t actually know what Gramigna alla salsiccia meant, and when I search google translate it said “Weed with sausage”… hrm… I hope I wasn’t gonna be getting high on something illegal!!

photo 5 [640x480]Turned out, I think it’s because the pasta itself looked like little ferns and hence the translation of “weed” LOL.  I found this pasta a little bit too salty, but delicious none the less.

I would photo 1 (2) [640x480]To balance out all the meaty stuff we ate we thought we’d order this side of grilled mixed vegies and some potato mash.  I really quite like how they scatter a bit of mint leaves on the vegies, it was fantastic in a hot day.

photo 2 (2) [640x480]If I ever visit Bologna, I wouldn’t mind coming back to Ristorante San Silvestro in Cantina.  Their pasta certainly beats All’Osteria Bottega! 7/10

Check out the rest of my awesome European Adventures here!

