Dainty Sichuan Food (Melbourne CBD)

Dainty Sichuan Food
Lvl 2 / 206 Bourke St, Melbourne
03 9650 2188

photo 1 (2) [640x480]I had an awesome girls day out with Shoe Queen and Makeup Queen singing karaoke at the Rainbow Karaoke Lounge at Bourke St one weekend.  After expending our energy through song, what else should we do but to stuff our bellies with food?  As Dainty Sichuan Food is conveniently located right next door to Rainbow Karaoke, and Makeup Queen is dying to try it, we decided to give it a whirl.

To be honest we tried Dainty Sichuan back when it was in Corrs Lane and I wasn’t really impressed by it.  It was oily and I don’t really like the hot, numbing flavours that is famous in Sichuan.  So I was skeptical whether I would enjoy it this time round.  Surprisingly this time round the menu has a specific description of the type of hotness and how hot it is.  So when I ordered I tried to avoid the numbing hot dishes and ordered the fragrant hot dishes instead.

photo 3 [640x480]My order was this chicken with tea tree mushroom and of course, chillies.  I am certainly impressed with this dish.  The chicken was flavoursome and succulent and the chilli gave a nice gentle kick (note: for me it was a nice gentle kick, but my friends was fanning themselves, so judge for yourself!)

photo 2 (2) [640x480]The other girls chose the lamb with cumin and Sichuan Peppercorns, which meant it does have that numbing hotness which I am not a big fan of.  What I really liked was the tenderness of the lamb and the girls loved the flavour and generous portion size.

photo 1 [640x480]We also had the famous fragrant fish flavoured eggplant.  I thought the eggplant was slightly undercooked.

photo 2 [640x480]Now THIS, is the shitz.  The friggin dish of the day which I have been dreaming day and night about, ever since I got a taste of this.  Pumpkin deep fried with egg yolk, it had a beautiful slightly chewy texture and the salted egg yolk added a depth in the flavour.  This is definitely a must order dish.

Even though I wasn’t sure of Dainty Sichuan initially, I must admit I was wrong, and will be back as soon as I can!  8/10

 
Dainty Sichuan Food on Urbanspoon

