10 hour Singapore Stopover: Long Beach

Hello everybodeeee! So I know I went AWOL for a while, but now that I am trying to get back into a full swing of things, why not start with food and travels?  Hubby and I embarked on a Christmas/ New Year trip around Cambodia, Vietnam and Hong Kong with P.Mummy and P.Daddy.

DPP_0030 [800x600]DPP_0021 [800x600]When organizing this trip, I decided not to plan the tour myself, as it would be wayyyyy too stressful and family trips are stressful enough as it is. Hence, I enlisted Intrepid Travel to help us plan the Cambodia leg of the trip, joining their Classic Cambodia tour.

DPP_00140 [800x600] DPP_00112 [800x600]For the Vietnam leg, Dorenedo had previously organised a cruise in Halong Bay, and so I thought, what the heck, same cruise it is! Easy peasy.

Hong Kong is our ‘hood and no one has to organise anything, so hopefully other than listening to mum yak on and on repeatedly about her life to different “Aunties and Uncles” (translation: family friends), there shouldn’t be too much stress involved.

Hubby and I started off in Melbourne, journeying through to Singapore for a 10 hour stopover then to Phnom Penh, Cambodia. We arrived in the ungodly hour of 5:45am, with lack of sleep and endless hours of waiting in the airport. What to do? Thankfully Singapore has got a few transit hotels (alas fully booked!!! Grrrr note to self remember to book ahead during peak season!), slumberette (which I managed to book) as well as free nap zones.

What is a slumberette? You wonder. A slumberette in Changi Airport is like a big room full of single beds with partition, for SG$30 (GST etc not included) you get to sleep in it for 3 hours. You also get towels and access to shower facility. Was it nice? Well, I am pretty much the princess and the pea kinda gal, and any sound/light/ movement could disturb my sleep. Hubby on the other hand snored loudly in his cubicle so I suppose if you could sleep anywhere, a slumberette in Changi Airport is a good choice.

So here we are, 3 hours down, 7 more to go. What to do? Thankfully our friend Crystal happens to be visiting family in Singapore, which meant we are in luck! She will be bringing us to eat! Yay!

Long Beach Seafood Restaurant
#01-04 East Coast Seafood Centre Singapore 449811
6448 3636

photo 3 [800x600]Being on the cautious side we asked her not to stray too far from the airport, so we went to East Coast Park where there are plenty of seafood restaurants. Crystal suggested Long Beach 長堤 which is famous for their Black Pepper Crabs.

photo 4 [800x600]

Even though I KNOW Long Beach is famous for their Pepper Crabs, I REALLY REALLY REALLY wanted to eat Chilli Crabs also, so we decided to ALSO order chilli crab to satisfy my pigginess!  What came out was fairly meaty Sri Lankan Crab, with delicious finger lickin’ tomato sauce with a very slight kick of chilli.  For a long time I imagined Singapore Chilli Crab to have this HUGE kick of chilli but in my last few trips, I learnt that this is not actually the case.  If you want a kick, you are better off eating Pepper Crab.

We had the deep fried mantou with the chilli crab and it soaks up all the tomatoey goodness.  I think I had two mantous all by myself.  Nom Nom Nom.

photo 2 [800x600]Oh. my. god.  This Black Pepper Crab is so good.  OK, it might be a million calories or so cos it has like, a ton of butter as well as black pepper but it’s just so worth it!

photo 1 [800x600]Of course, it’s so important to be healthy (ahem!) so we ordered some kang kong cooked in Belacan sauce.  It was good, but really, the crabs are the stars of the show.

One thing I didn’t like about Long Beach is the stingy-ness of providing wet toilettes.  Little did I know it costs SG$0.60 each and I kept asking them for more!  DOH!

Anyway, after that we bid farewell to our lovely host Crystal and continued our journey to Phnom Penh.

