Piggy in Phnom Penh: Chillaxing day spa and Sorya Shopping Centre food court

Hello from Phnom Penh!  We are pretty stuffed from our 24 hr journey from Melbourne via Singapore, so today is a chillaxing day of doing nothing for us!

photo 1 [800x600]Considering everything is so cheap here, we decided to go for a noice treatment in Bodia Spa in Phnom Penh.  They are certainly one of the more expensive spas in the area but hey, for USD$48 you get a two hour treatment, which you could never ever get that in Australia, so why not splurge a bit?

photo 2 [800x600]I got the Silk and Cocoon Siem Reap package, which consists of 75 mins massage and a black rice and mango pudding…opps I mean a black rice and mango body scrub.  I seriously smelt like mango and black rice pudding.  Nom nom nom.  They later add yoghurt to my skin and my mind wandered off at the possibility of making black rice pudding with mango and yoghurt for Brekkie when I get back to Melbourne.

Feeling incredibly hungry after that, we went to the Sorya Shopping Centre to have some food.  The top level of Sorya Shopping Centre consists of a food court, probably half the size of Bangkok’s MBK’s food court.  Their selection is not huge either, with about 10 stores we could hardly distinguish between the different shops that sells array of pork, beef, chicken, seafood noodle soups or pork, beef, chicken, seafood with rice.

photo 3 [800x600]I went to the one called “Chinese food” (not that I can tell the difference between Chinese food and the other ones) and tried ordering a fish ball noodle soup.  Unfortunately as you can tell here they gave me beef balls and beef.  Oh wellz.  I don’t really like their beef balls as there are massive lumps of peppercorns in it.  I know peppercorns is famous in Cambodia and I don’t mind a bit of peppercorns but when 5% of the beef balls consists of peppercorns it’s a bit much.  The MSG in the soup simply too much for me but then again for USD $2 perhaps I shouldn’t ask for too much.

Hubby’s spicy fried rice USD$2 must be a misnomer as the rice is not fried.  The dish consists of white rice with an egg on top and some stir fried mystery meat on the side.  Hm.  The spice profile felt like a bit of curry leaves, chilli and peppercorns.  He wasn’t that impressed either.

I guess we can’t complain too much for cheap eats, as when we meet up with our parents, we are going to a few upmarket joints, so stay tuned!

