Lucini’s Historic Pasta, Hepburn Springs

Lucini’s Historic Pasta
64 Main Rd, Hepburn Springs
03 5348 4345

photo 1 [800x600]Hello from Hepburn Springs!  I was there for a 3 day course and since the last day was a Friday, hubby decided to drive up so we can spend a weekend there.  I wasn’t sure when he will make it to Hepburn Springs after work, so I thought I’d chillax by having an amazing pregnancy massage and foot treatment at Omada Day Spa.  Afterwards I was expecting Hubby to be here already, but he texted me to say he is only on his way!  Humph!  So instead I decided to go for a walk around and check out what we should have for dinner.  I walked past this old shabby looking house with a signboard that said “Lucini’s Pasta Restaurant- Open” so I peeked in.  It smelt a bit musty in there but I was greeted warmly by the owner.  I decided to book a table then and there when he mentioned his mum’s in the kitchen cooking.

photo 2 [800x600]We came back at about 7:30pm and the dining room was half empty.  I wasn’t sure whether I had made the right choice, but I spotted a cheap eats guide 2013 sticker, so I was hoping that it was good!

photo 3 [800x600]We had some homemade sausage for starters with Nepali sauce.  The sauce was delicious, but I wasn’t a huge fan of the sausage.  I think it’s made of livers and I am not a huge fan of liver.

photo 5 [800x600]Hubby ordered the lamb ragu and the meat simply melts in your mouth.  The meat was flavoursome and the penne was al dente.  He didn’t let me eat too much of it though so I couldn’t truly taste the flavours 😦

photo 4 [800x600]My pasta, which I think it’s called something like the volcano or something, was out of this world.  It has olives, capers and chilli in a tomato sauce and it was beautiful.  It might be just that for the last three days I was deprived of carbs, but I am STILL thinking about this pasta even now, a few weeks after I came back from Hepburn Springs.

Lucini’s Pasta was certainly one of my foodie highlights in Hepburn Springs, and considering we went to Kazuki’s and Lakehouse the day after it certainly said something.  For $60 for two people with a lemon lime bitter and beer I thought it was a very reasonable meal.  I am not sure why Urbanspoon rated it that low, but I was glad that I stumbled across it.  8/10.

Lucini's Historic Pasta Cafe & Bar on Urbanspoon

