Kazuki’s Daylesford

Kazuki’s
1 Camp Street, Daylesford
03 5348 1218

photo 1 [800x600]I couldn’t believe my eyes while researching about where to dine in Daylesford, I stumbled upon a Japanese restaurant named Kazuki’s which recieved so many accolades so naturally, it went onto my list of must eats 🙂

photo 3 [800x600]We arrived early on a Saturday lunch so I got to take pictures of the interesting wall paintings before the dining room fills up.  I decided on a 3 course meal ($80) while hubby took the full four course ($100)- what a greedy thing!

photo 4 [800x600]I started off with a elderflower and soda drink, which the waiter told me it was made from the elderflower straight from the garden.  I have never tried elderflower before and thought it had an interesting taste but I quite like it as it was super refreshing for a hot day.

photo 5 [800x600]You might not believe this but my favourite thing in this restaurant is actually this bread and butter.  Why the heck, you might ask, is the butter BLACK.  WELL.  That’s because it’s made of squid ink and seaweed.  It had an unforgetable flavour of the sea.  I think we had about 3 of these rolls (freshly hot out of the oven) with three tubs of this butterrrrrr.  With my morning nausea fully behind me, I am an eating machine!

photo 1 (3) [800x600]Sadly there are a lot of things I couldn’t eat, like this lovely scallop ceviche.  So dear readers, you and I can only feast our eyes upon this very very yummy looking dish with quinoa and baby coriander which hubby demolished in 10 seconds flat and started eating my food.  😦

photo 2 (3) [800x600]What I was able to eat was this Moreton Bay bug dumplings.  Okay it was a bit bad as the foamy thing is a sake emulsion, but I hope it doesn’t have much sake in it because it didn’t have a huge alcoholic taste to it ;P  The little cubes next to it were the ponzu jelly, which the waiter has advise me to wait for it to melt a little so it kinda serves as a dipping sauce to the dumpling.  The dumpling itself wasn’t really specatular in any sense, but the emulsions, jellies, crunchy shallots and fresh herbs were the things that made this dish interesting.

photo 3 (2) [800x600]Next was the crab omelette with sauce Amercian and Avruga.  I didn’t get to eat the Avruga which is a caviar cos it wasn’t cooked nor the cripsy thing that had the caviar on it which Hubby devoured.  So without the texture component my crab omlette was actually quite plain.  The sauce was really rich but nothing to write home about.

photo 4 (2) [800x600]We both decided to pay $40 supplement for the Sher Wagyu.  I know it’s only 150g but that thing was so rich and oily that I could barely eat four mouthfuls.  I am not a huge protein person and I wondered if I should have just ordered two entrees and one dessert 😛

photo 1 (2) [800x600]We also ordered sides which are these delicious miso eggplant and a not so delicious potato croquette.  How people could stuff up potato croquetter I wasn’t sure.  But it was not very hot, slightly soggy and it was slightly chunky.

photo 2 (2) [800x600]Hubby had the chocolate fondant with violet parfait and berry icecream.  I had a small taste of chocolate fondant as I was so full, but it was too sweet for my liking.

photo 2 [800x600]Overall, I don’t mind Kazuki’s but the food wasn’t breathtakingly awesome, except the complimentary bread and butter.  Would I be back?  Erm, if only I could just buy takeaway bread roll and seaweed squid ink butter.  😛  7/10

Kazuki's on Urbanspoon

