Pho Thin Lo Duc, Hanoi

Hello from Hanoi!  I am so excited about this place that I thought I’d blog about it even though this is probably my third meal in Hanoi 😛  That day, we went walking along the streets of Hanoi which has lots of scrumptious street food.  I wasn’t allowed to have any under the watchful eyes of hubby 😦  So I could just looked on longingly while other people scoff down their food 😦

DPP_00091 [800x600] DPP_00090 [800x600] DPP_00092 [800x600]What I DID allow to eat is at Pho Thin Lo Duc, which is what my Vietnamese Ha highly recommended.  Pho Thin Lo Duc is not in a high density area, at least not in the weekend anyways so it’s a bit harder to find, but once you found it, it’s so worth it.
Pho Thin Lo Duc
Lo Duc Street., Hoàn Kiếm, Hanoi

Pho Thin Lo Duc is obviously situated in Lo Duc street.  It doesn’t have a menu cos it only serves one thing: Pho w stir fried beef.  You pretty much just sit down and the bowls of steaming noodles will just be plonked down before you.  From memory it was super cheap (AUD$1.5 approx).  It was amazing to be able to sit near the kitchen cos you see them cooking the beef.  The flame shot up sky high and the ceiling on top of the stove was blackened by all the flames and smoke.  There is certainly the “wok hei” (air of the wok) in the beef and, like my friend Ha kept saying, the soup has an unforgettable flavour.  The noodles were deliciously smooth and silky, and with a bit of those fresh raw chilli, it’s a perfect bowl of pho.

IMG_7429 [800x600] DPP_00094 [800x600] DPP_00095 [800x600] DPP_00096 [800x600]

