Piggy in Hung Hom, Hong Kong

photo 1 (2) [800x600]I have lived in Hong Kong for 15 years prior to Australia, so I am familiar with the pop icons in Hong Kong.  Since I was in Hong Kong when one of Hong Kong’s superstars, Joey Yung, is staging a concert in the Hong Kong Coliseum, one of the most popular concert venues in Hong Kong. I decided to go, even though none of my friends wanted to go with me 😥  To be honest, being an only child meant that I am fairly independent, so it doesn’t faze me to eat and attend concerts alone 🙂

photo 2 (2) [800x600]Of course, first thing first.  With all the screaming to be done later in the concert means fuel, which means: FOOD.  Where to go where to go where to go?  Here’s where Open Rice saves the day!  I decided to walk a few kilometres over the pedestrian bridge to have Shanghai Dumplings and egg waffles!

上海飽餃店 (No english name)
G/F, No. 6 Ming On Street, Hung Hom, Hong Kong
紅磡明安街6號地下(巴士站旁)

photo 1 [800x600]This place is seriously cramped man.  There is probably 3 tables stuff full of tables, so don’t be shy about sharing tables!

photo 2 [800x600]There is only one of me, so I can’t order too much, only the Shanghaiese dumplings- Xiao Long Bao XLB (HKD$16, AUD$2.3).

photo 3 [800x600]See this dumpling?  Good Shanghaiese dumplings (Xiao Long Bao) should never break when picked up!  😀  That being said there is a few things to note: the skin was a bit thicker than the likes of Din Tai Fung.  There is no silvers of ginger nor vinegar on offer either, but I decided at least I get to taste the true flavours of the Shanghaiese Dumplings!  The flavours are pretty good and to be honest, and really for that price is too good to be true.

Mammy Pancake 媽咪雞蛋仔
Shop 2A, G/F, Whampoa Street, Hung Hom
紅磡黃埔街2號A地下
photo 1 [800x600] (2)Dessert time!  It’s so hard to find this place!  So I had to ask someone- it’s actually really close to the pedestrian bridge and if you recognise the huge waffle that’s hanging over the little shop, then you have found it!

photo 4 [800x600]I ordered the Sesame HK style egg waffles AUD$17 (HK$2.5).  Yes it’s actually more exxy than the Shanghaiese Pork Dumplings LOL!  But it was really really yummy!  Although it might not be as fantastic as the North Point Egg Waffles I had last time.

photo 5 [800x600]That being said this HK style egg waffle is still awesome.  Fragrant from the sesame seeds and plump with spongy eggy insides it was so addictive that I kept shovelling it in my mouth!  Yum Yum!  Definitely a must try if you are ever in Hung Hom!

Finally I get to my original destination – Joey’s concert!  Yay yay yay!

photo 3 (2) [800x600]

 

 

 

 

