Sushi Shota 壽司翔太

Sushi Shota 壽司翔太
8/F Kyoto Plaza, 491-499 Lockhart Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong
銅鑼灣駱克道491-499號京都廣場8樓
+852 2834 3031

photo 1 [800x600]I have been recommended by one of the HK food bloggers to try Sushi Shota, so I decided to take Hubby and MiL for his birthday, after spending almost a whole day in the Hong Kong Peninsula Spa in Kowloon.  Situated a few hundred metres behind Sogo, it’s certainly a convenient place to dine.

photo 2 [800x600] photo 3 [800x600]Because I can’t exactly have delicious sashimi, I had to sadly order cooked sushi- California roll (sans fish roe) HKD$80 and pickled plum & shiso leaf roll HKD$30.  The California roll is good as expected and it hits the spot, so I decided to order another one whilst Hubby ate his delicious sashimi so I won’t get too jealous.  25 mins later, the friggin California hasn’t arrived.  They have friggin forgotten my order!  Not happy.  The plum & shiso leaf roll wasn’t that great.  I think the pickled plum was too sour and salty.

photo 2 (2) [800x600]We ordered some grilled stuff as well as sashimi, and surprisingly it came before the sashimi.  Any decent Japanese place should really know, you eat from light flavour to heavy flavour, and giving us grilled fish and scallops BEFORE sashimi is SIMPLY NOT ON.  The scallops (HKD$60) wasn’t even good.  The scallops were over cooked and I was expecting a crispy, not chewy seaweed wrapped around it.  This was extremely disappointing.  The other grilled dish we ordered was the grilled smelt HKD$40.  That was ok, it wasn’t as plump as the others I have had.

photo 1 (2) [800x600]Hubby’s pièce de résistance, seasonal luxury sashimi HKD$1200 came.  It certainly looked beautiful and hubby commented it was better quality than anything he had in Melbourne, however, compare to Sushi Kuu and Sushi Mori, it certainly wasn’t as good.

photo 3 (2) [800x600]I was still hungry after they forgot my california roll order, so I decided to order the vegetable udon (HKD$80).  We were warned that this is going to take 10 mins, which we were fine about it, but once again after 25 mins and the stupid udon didn’t come, I was left extremely irritated.  I don’t understand WHY it took SO LONG to make a bloody VEGIE udon?  Do they have to grow the friggin veggies in their back garden?  Honestly, never piss a hangry pregnant woman off.

photo 4 (2) [800x600]I was so dissatisfied with my meal that I had to go to and have HK style waffle with butter, peanut butter and sugar in Times Square.  After an almost perfect day spent in luxury at The Peninsula for Hubby’s birthday, Sushi Shota sadly was not a perfect ending to Hubby’s birthday.  😦  Never going back there again!

 

